Anti-racism faculty hiring moves to third round


The Anti-Racism Faculty Hiring Initiative, one of the Office of the Provost’s programs and activities to address systemic racism, will begin its third round of proposal submission and review in March.

The application process will open March 11 and close at 5 p.m. April 1. Information about proposal requirements for the third round is available on the Office of the Provost’s website.

In naming the selection committee for the third round of proposals, Provost Susan M. Collins noted that faculty across campus have been deeply engaged in this initiative.

“We are truly grateful for the thoughtful work of faculty members, as proposal writers and as reviewers,” she said. “Their knowledge and commitment strengthen U-M’s ability to do impactful work in this critical area.”

The selection committee includes:

  • Sara Blair, Patsy S. Yeager Collegiate Professor of English Language and Literature, LSA; and vice provost for academic and faculty affairs.
  • Bilal Butt, associate professor of environment and sustainability, School for Environment and Sustainability.
  • Tabbye Chavous, professor of psychology and associate dean for diversity, equity, and inclusion, LSA; professor of education, School of Education; and program director, National Center for Institutional Diversity.
  • Steven Erickson, associate professor of pharmacy, College of Pharmacy; and clinical pharmacist, U-M Hospitals.
  • Larry Gant, professor of social work, School of Social Work; and professor of art and design, Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design.
  • Francine Lafontaine, interim dean, William Davidson Professor of Business Administration and professor of business economics, Stephen M. Ross School of Business; and professor of economics, LSA.
  • Tiffany Ng, associate professor of music, School of Music, Theatre & Dance; and university carillonist. 
  • Yeidy Rivero, professor of American culture, and chair of the Department of Film, Television and Media, LSA.
  • Leah Robinson, professor of movement science, School of Kinesiology.
  • Mark West, David A. Breach Dean of Law and Nippon Life Professor of Law, Law School.
  • Alford A. Young, Arthur S. Thurnau Professor, Edgar G. Epps Collegiate Professor of Sociology and chair of the Department of Sociology, LSA.

In the first two rounds of proposal review, four proposals were selected for funding. Search activities are underway, with plans to recruit 15 new faculty members whose work will contribute to the understanding of systemic racism and ways to address it.

The approved proposals, details for which are available at the Provost’s Office website, are:

  • Racial Justice in Health Care: Informatics and Data Driven Approaches.
  • Racial Justice and Technology.
  • Advancing Anti-Racism Through Arts-Based Social Work Practice, Arts Leadership, and Community Engagement.
  • Indigeneity, Race, and American Belonging.

Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.