Anti-Racism Faculty Hiring Initiative selection committee named


The University of Michigan’s Anti-Racism Faculty Hiring Initiative is moving forward with Provost Susan M. Collins naming the members of the committee who will review hiring proposals and make selections for funding for the first round of submissions.

The initiative, a component of the university’s multifaceted approach to addressing systemic racism, will bring at least 20 new scholars with expertise in racial inequality and structural racism to schools and colleges across campus over three years.

“Clusters of faculty, including those newly recruited and current faculty members, will use research, education, and societal engagement to advance racial equity,” Collins said.

“Faculty clusters will focus on social challenges, including areas such as environmental justice, health equity, educational disparities, technologies of surveillance and the prison pipeline, with the goal of building on, expanding and deepening U-M’s expertise in scholarship on race and racial justice.”

The selection committee members are:

  • Audrey G. Bennett, University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor and professor of art and design, Penny W. Stamps School of Art and Design.  
  • Sara Blair, vice provost for faculty and academic affairs; Patricia S. Yaeger Collegiate Professor of English, LSA; and chair of the selection committee.
  • Tabbye Chavous, director of the National Center for Institutional Diversity; associate vice president for research, U-M Office of Research; professor of psychology, LSA; and professor of education, School of Education.
  • Alec Gallimore, Robert J. Vlasic Dean of Engineering, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Richard F. and Eleanor A. Towner Professor of Engineering and professor of aerospace engineering, College of Engineering.  
  • Patricia Hurn, dean and professor of nursing, School of Nursing; professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology, LSA; and professor of molecular and integrative physiology, Medical School.
  • Jonathan Massey, dean and professor of architecture and urban planning, Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning.
  • Paul Mohai, professor of natural resources and environment, School for Environment and Sustainability.  
  • Sandra L. Momper, associate professor of social work, School of Social Work.  
  • Anthony P. Mora, associate professor of American culture and history, LSA.
  • Enrique Neblett Jr., professor of health behavior and health education, School of Public Health.
  • Margo Schlanger, Wade H. and Dores M. McCree Collegiate Professor of Law and professor of law, Law School.  
  • Alford A. Young Jr., Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Edgar G. Epps Collegiate Professor of Sociology and professor of Afroamerican and African studies, and associate director of the National Center for Institutional Diversity and the Center for Social Solutions, LSA; and professor of public policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy.

The proposal submission period will open Jan. 4, 2021, and will remain open until the close of business Feb. 8, 2021.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.