Working group membership


These are the members of a working group that recommended changes to the policy governing romantic relationships between faculty and undergraduate students.

Faculty members

  • Susan A. Gelman, Heinz Werner Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Linguistics, professor of psychology and professor of linguistics (chair)
  • Peter Chen, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and professor of electrical engineering and computer science, College of Engineering
  • Freda Herseth, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and professor of music (voice), School of Music, Theatre & Dance
  • Dave Mayer, professor of management and organizations, Stephen M. Ross School of Business
  • Terrence McDonald, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, professor of history and director of the Bentley Historical Library
  • Shelby Newport, department chair and associate professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, UM-Flint
  • Robert Ortega, associate professor of social work and university faculty ombuds
  • Jennifer Proctor, associate professor of journalism and screen studies, UM-Dearborn
  • Ex-officio members

  • Jeffery Frumkin, Academic Human Resources
  • Gloria Hage, Office of the Vice President and General Counsel
  • Timothy Wood, University Human Resources

Administrative leads

  • James Burkel, Assistant Vice Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs
  • Christine Gerdes, Special Counsel to the Provost

Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.