UMOR to honor six staff members for outstanding research service


The Office of Research will recognize six University of Michigan staff members for their outstanding research service.

Bennet Fauber, Jessica Getman and Missy Tuck will receive the Research Technical Staff Recognition Award, Carrie Disney and Nicholas Prieur will receive the Research Administrator Recognition Award, and Kathryn Dewitt will receive the U-M Office of Research Exceptional Service Award.

Bennet Fauber

Jessica Getman

Missy Tuck

Carrie Disney

Nicholas Prieur

Kathryn DeWitt

“Without the expertise of our dedicated staff members across campus, it would be difficult to maintain our status as one of the world’s largest and most diverse research universities,” said S. Jack Hu, vice president for research.

An award reception is scheduled for 3:30-5 p.m. May 17 in the Michigan League’s Vandenberg Room. The award ceremony and remarks from Hu will begin at 4 p.m., with a reception to follow. The event is open to the public.

The Research Technical Staff Recognition Award recognizes staff members who have, independently or along with faculty, advanced the research mission of her or his unit in a way that extends beyond the ordinary fulfillment of a position’s duties.

Bennet Fauber, senior applications programmer/analyst for Advanced Research Computing-Technology Services, provides computing support and training for researchers collecting and analyzing data on the function and structure of the human brain. This work helps researchers better understand the functioning of healthy brains and identify targets for treatment in brain disorders.

Jessica Getman, managing editor of the Gershwin Initiative for the School of Music, Theatre & Dance, has coordinated the project’s early and extraordinary success, its policies and research guidelines, and burnishes its overall research excellence.

Getman possesses the organizational acumen to keep the entire enterprise on task and on time, and she also has established procedures that will shape the series into the future.

Missy Tuck, clinical research project manager for the Department of Internal Medicine, Hematology/Oncology, has synthesized a variety of skillsets into a universal project management role that is the foundation of success for her unit’s research efforts in cancer prevention.

Over her career, Tuck has contributed to 13 original research manuscripts, 12 abstracts and presentations, and a book chapter. More broadly, she has established a new model for complex project management for translational research.

The Research Administrator Recognition Award recognizes research administrators in any unit, and honors exemplary service to the research community over a number of years.

Carrie Disney, research process coordinator for the School of Social Work, manages a large number of research projects from a broad range of funders, including foundations, and national and state entities. Her breadth of knowledge about funding mechanisms has long been an invaluable resource for SSW.

Nicholas Prieur, research process manager for the Institute for Social Research, has played a key role in seeking grants for the institute, both in direct support of research faculty and programs. Between 2011 and 2016, Prieur served as the administrator of record for 116 awards, worth more than $54 million in funding.

The Exceptional Service Award recognizes staff members in Office of Research units for important contributions to the university’s research mission through exceptional performance and by going beyond the ordinary fulfillment of position duties.

Kathryn A. DeWitt, managing project representative for the Office of Research and Sponsored Projects, has served as a research administrator for 28 years at U-M.

During her tenure, DeWitt has garnered a stellar reputation based on her responsiveness, her expertise regarding federal sponsors, her experience in developing large and complex proposals, and her absolute commitment to quality customer service.

The awards were selected by Hu, based on recommendations from an award selection committee consisting of past award winners: Teri Grieb (committee chair), senior director of research Medical School, UMOR, and managing director of the Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research; Cathy Thibault, assistant director for administration, Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research; Catherine Seay-Ostrowski, department administrator, Biomedical Engineering; Cathy Handyside, product manager, Information and Technology Services; Sharon Vaassen, research manager, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery; Kerri-Anne Sullivan Cross, senior research process manager, ISR; and Patricia Turnbull, research process manager, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, UM-Dearborn.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.