U-M honors four staff members for outstanding research service


Four staff members from the University of Michigan are being recognized for their outstanding service to the research community.

Terri Maxwell will receive the Office of Research Exceptional Service Award, Melissa Karby will receive the Research Administrator Recognition Award, and Chuck Woolley will receive the Research Technical Staff Recognition Award.

Photo of Terri Maxwell
Terri Maxwell

Photo of Melissa Karby

Melissa Karby

Photo of Chuck Woolley

Chuck Woolley

Photo of Jessica Soulliere

Jessica Soulliere

The Business Engagement Center and Office of Technology Transfer also will posthumously honor Jessica Soulliere with its inaugural Outstanding Service Award for her exceptional work ethic and strong commitment to service.

“Strong cooperation and synergy among our professional research staff and faculty is necessary to maintain the nation’s largest research volume among public universities,” said S. Jack Hu, vice president for research. “This year’s recipients have exhibited extraordinary spirit, energy and effectiveness in their job, which has helped keep the university’s research engine running smoothly.”

An award reception is scheduled for 3:30-5 p.m. May 23 in the Michigan League’s Vandenberg Room. The award ceremony and remarks, which is open to the public, will begin at 4 p.m.

The Exceptional Service Award recognizes staff members in Office of Research units for important contributions to the university’s research mission through exceptional performance and by going beyond the ordinary fulfillment of position duties.

Maxwell, senior project representative in the Office of Research and Sponsored Projects, has provided “stellar” customer service to the U-M research community since joining the team in 1999, her colleagues say.

Many people across campus identify Maxwell as the university’s “recognized expert” on policy and procedural issues related to the National Institutes of Health, and the other sponsors in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, which is consistently the largest external sponsor of U-M research.

Throughout her two decades of service to ORSP, Maxwell has improved the university’s research administration infrastructure, while helping to reduce faculty burden and increase training opportunities for staff.

The Research Administrator Recognition Award recognizes research administrators in any unit across campus, and honors exemplary service to the research community over a number of years.

Karby brings a wealth of experience to the School of Dentistry, having served in a variety of important research administration roles across campus.

As the school’s director of research administration, Karby reviews and assists with grant proposals, works with leadership to identify research initiatives, and explores ways to improve and enhance services. Her skills, breadth of knowledge and commitment to volunteer work help support and advance the university’s research mission.

The Research Technical Staff Recognition Award recognizes staff members who have, independently or along with faculty, advanced the research mission of their unit in a way that extends beyond the ordinary fulfillment of a position’s duties.

Woolley, lead research area specialist in the Department of Industrial and Operations Engineering, has made a profound impact on U-M students over the past 40 years, developing and teaching courses that help prepare them for careers in research and academia. He also collaborates with faculty and staff to develop equipment and procedures that are uniquely tailored for catalyzing cutting-edge research.

Woolley’s technical contributions to the university’s vast teaching and research environment have led to great successes not only for faculty, but also for hundreds of students and staff.

Soulliere, a former licensing professional in the Office of Technology Transfer, partnered with faculty across campus to move software, mobile technologies and creative works from the laboratory into the marketplace. Tech Transfer and the Business Engagement Center plan to recognize her efforts each year through its new Outstanding Service Award.

The awards were selected by Hu, based on recommendations from an award selection committee consisting of past award winners: Nicholas Prieur, research process manager, Institute for Social Research; Linda Chadwick, director of research administration, LSA; Patricia Turnbull, research process manager, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, UM-Dearborn; Sharon Vaassen, research manager, Orthopaedic Surgery; Rick Brandon, associate general counsel; Tom Bray, converging technologies consultant, Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design; Judy Carrillo, financial senior manager, Internal Medicine/Finance; and Lori Deromedi, compliance specialist, Office of the Vice President for Research.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.