Three researchers from LSA chosen as Cottrell Scholars

Photo of Charles McCrory
Charles McCrory

Photo of Alison Narayan

Alison Narayan

Photo of Emily Rauscher

Emily Rauscher

Three LSA faculty members, whose fields include chemistry and astronomy, have been named 2019 Cottrell Scholars by the Research Corporation for Science Advancement, a foundation dedicated to science.

Each of the 24 recipients is identified as a leader in integrating science teaching and research at a top U.S. research university or a primarily undergraduate institution, and is also awarded $100,000.

The University of Michigan winners and the work for which they were honored are:

• Charles C.L. McCrory, assistant professor of chemistry — Selective Electrocatalysis by Polymer-Encapsulated Catalysts: The Role of Charge and Substrate Transport on Catalytic Efficiency.

• Alison Narayan, assistant professor of chemistry — Biocatalytic Reactions for Selective, Sustainable Synthesis and Engaging Graduate Student Instructors for Improved Outcomes in Organic Chemistry.

• Emily Rauscher, assistant professor of astronomy — Exo-Cartography: Resolving Three-Dimensional Images of Extrasolar Worlds.

The Cottrell Scholar program awards early career teacher-scholars in chemistry, physics and astronomy by providing significant discretionary awards for research.

more information

The program’s goal is to develop outstanding teacher-scholars who are recognized by their scientific communities for the quality and innovation of their research programs and their academic leadership skills.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.