Nominations sought for Jackson, Johnson diversity awards


Nominations are being sought for two awards honoring faculty members for their contributions to diversity at the University of Michigan.

The James S. Jackson Distinguished Career Award for Diversity Scholarship is a biennial award that recognizes the important scholarly contributions made by University of Michigan faculty to understanding diversity and addressing disparities in contemporary society.

Every other year, a senior faculty member at U-M whose program of research and scholarship focuses on diversity — including teaching, mentoring and public engagement — will be selected to receive the award and to deliver a public distinguished lecture or performance.

The award is named for Jackson, a professor emeritus of psychology and former director of the Institute for Social Research, and comes with an honorarium of $10,000. The nomination deadline is March 1.

The Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award is given annually to up to five members of the regular instructional and research faculty, including librarians, curators and archivists on the Ann Arbor campus, including the Medical School.

It recognizes faculty whose service goes above and beyond their regular duties and contributes to the development of a culturally and ethnically diverse campus community.

Named in honor of a dean emeritus of the School of Social Work, it includes a $5,000 stipend for each honoree. The nomination deadline is April 1.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.