February 20, 2020

Faculty Senate

  1. November 18, 2019

    Faculty members question draft sexual misconduct policy

    U-M faculty members posed questions and offered input on the university’s draft umbrella policy on sexual and gender-based misconduct during a Faculty Senate meeting.

  2. November 11, 2019

    Faculty Senate session called over umbrella misconduct policy

    The Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs has called a meeting of the full Faculty Senate to discuss and collect input on U-M’s draft umbrella policy on sexual and gender-based misconduct.  

  3. October 28, 2019

    Academic freedom lecturer to address tenured faculty reductions

    Henry F. Reichman of the American Association of University Professors will deliver the 29th Davis, Markert, and Nickerson Lecture on Academic and Intellectual Freedom.

  4. September 3, 2019

    Q&A: SACUA chair outlines priorities for faculty governance

    Joy Beatty, chair of the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs, discusses the central faculty governance system and its role in the university decision-making process.

  5. August 6, 2019

    MaryJo Banasik named director of Faculty Senate Office

    MaryJo Banasik has been named the new director of U-M’s Faculty Senate Office, providing operational and administrative support to the university’s central faculty governance efforts.

  6. April 22, 2019

    Beatty, Conway to lead central faculty governance in 2019-20

    Joy Beatty, associate professor of management studies at UM-Dearborn, will chair U-M’s central faculty governance system for 2019-20. Colleen Conway, professor of music education, will serve as vice chair.

  7. March 28, 2019

    SACUA seeks earlier faculty inclusion in university decision making

    U-M faculty governance leaders are urging university administrators to consult faculty members earlier in the process of policy development.

  8. March 19, 2019

    Senate Assembly elects Ahbel-Rappe, Gallo, Manera to SACUA

    The Senate Assembly has elected Sara Ahbel-Rappe and Elena Gallo of LSA and Annalisa Manera of the College of Engineering to three-year terms on the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs.

  9. March 7, 2019

    Ten faculty members seeking three seats on SACUA

    The U-M faculty’s Senate Assembly will choose three new members of the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs on March 18 for three-year terms that begin May 1.

  10. December 5, 2018

    Faculty invited to dialogue with President Schlissel at town hall

    U-M faculty members are invited to attend a town hall with President Mark Schlissel, who will discuss challenges and opportunities facing the university.