University of Michigan
News for faculty, staff and retirees

June 16, 2019


May 6, 2019

Accolades — May 2019

Wilbur W.C. Bigelow, emeritus professor of materials science and engineering, will be conducted into the Class of 2019 Fellows of the Microscopy Society of America.

March 18, 2019


Michigan Radio recently received the Jack R. Howard Award for Radio/Podcast In-Depth Coverage from the Scripps Howard Foundation for its “Believed” podcast series. The Scripps Howard Awards are one of the nation’s most prestigious American journalism competitions.

December 10, 2018


Kent Berridge and Terry Robinson

May 7, 2018


Sandra Gregerman, director emeritus of the Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program, will receive the Council on Undergraduate Research's 2018 CUR Fellows Award. The biennial awards are presented to individuals who have developed internationally respected research programs involving undergraduate students.

February 5, 2018


Susan Borrego

Paul Hollenberg

December 11, 2017


President Mark Schlissel received an inaugural Moving Forward Award Dec. 9 from the Detroit Historical Society.

November 20, 2017


Susan E. Borrego, chancellor and professor of education, University of Michigan-Flint, is the recipient of the 2017 National Association of Student Personnel Administrators Region IV-East President's Award.

October 16, 2017


Jerry Blackstone

June 5, 2017


Four University of Michigan professors were named 2017 American Council of Learned Societies Fellows earlier this year. They are Sara L. Ahbel-Rappe, professor of Greek and Latin, LSA; Valerie A. Kivelson, Thomas N. Tentler Collegiate Professor of History, Arthur F.

April 17, 2017


Peter Ho Davies, professor of English language and literature, and director of the Hopwood Program, LSA, has received the Cleveland Foundation’s annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Award for his work of fiction titled “The Fortunes.” The Anisfield-Wolf Book Award is the only national juried prize for literature that confronts racism and

February 20, 2017


Michael Daugherty, professor of music (composition), School of Music, Theatre & Dance; and Joseph Gramley, associate professor of music, SMTD, were honored at the 59th annual Grammy Awards on Feb. 12.


Subscribe to Accolades