Accolades — November 2023

Photo of Sanjay Saint
Sanjay Saint

Sanjay Saint, the George Dock Collegiate Professor of Internal Medicine and professor of internal medicine in the Medical School; chief of medicine at the Veteran’s Administration Ann Arbor Healthcare System; and director of the VA/U-M Patient Safety Enhancement Program, has earned the 2022 Veterans Affairs Under Secretary’s Award for Outstanding Achievement in Health Services Research, the highest honor for a VA health services researcher. Saint has been a pioneer in generating new knowledge related to preventing hospital-acquired infections and translating that knowledge to improve the health of veterans and the nation. His work has resulted in measurable improvements in the health and health care of veterans and the nation. He is also a recognized international leader on the topics of mentorship, leadership and medical education in academic medicine.

Photo of Tony Denton
Tony Denton

Tony Denton, senior vice president and chief environment, social and governance officer at U-M Health, was recently recognized as a 2023 Diversity Leader to Watch by Modern Healthcare. Denton was chosen for his resounding commitment toward promoting health equity, protecting the health and quality of life for older adults, developing future health care leaders through diversifying the pipeline, providing resources for homeless youth and initiating Michigan Medicine’s Million Meal Mission. Denton is the executive sponsor for Michigan Medicine’s state-of-the-art mobile mammography unit for breast cancer screening, and also the executive sponsor for an approved $35 million investment in Ypsilanti to relocate and expand an existing primary care center.

Marie-Anne Rosemberg, associate professor of nursing, and Olga Yakusheva, professor of nursing, have been inducted as American Academy of Nursing Fellows. Rosemberg was inducted as a 2023 Fellow, which recognizes nursing professionals for their substantial, sustained and outstanding impact on health and health care. Yakusheva was named an Honorary Fellow for her extraordinary contributions to the nursing profession through health policy transformation. She is an economist whose pioneering research focuses on the efficiency, effectiveness and economic impact of nursing. Her publications have paved the way for the value-informed nursing practice model, which explores the convergence of nursing and economic theory for organizational transformation.

The Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation has been recognized by the Healthcare Leadership Council with its Redefining American Healthcare Award. The council is a coalition of chief executives of the nation’s leading health care companies and institutions. For more than 10 years, IHPI and its ever-growing membership of U-M faculty have worked to improve American health care and health policy through a broad range of health services research and innovative initiatives. The award recognizes best practices and programs in communities and organizations across the nation that optimize care for vulnerable patients. Award recipients are organizations developing and activating cost-effective, measurable community programs promoting a patient-centered approach to care that considers outside social factors to achieve the best outcomes.

— Submit requests for faculty or staff Accolades to [email protected]. Please attach a digital photo if you wish for one to be included.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.