University seeks nominations for honorary degree recipients


University of Michigan leaders are encouraging the campus community to nominate individuals who have contributed to their field or society to be considered for honorary degrees by the Honorary Degree Committee.

more information
staff contacts
  • Stephen Yaros, project manager, Office of the President

  • John Godfrey, assistant dean, Rackham Graduate School

“Honorary degrees give us the opportunity to celebrate with pride the accomplishments of those whose contributions have changed the world,” President Mark Schlissel said.

Nominees may be individuals who have advanced their field of endeavor in significant ways, or have made compelling contributions to society. The deadline to submit nominations to be considered by the Honorary Degree Committee at its upcoming meeting is 5 p.m. Oct. 23.

The committee, chaired by Rackham Graduate School Dean Michael J. Solomon, consists of faculty members from the Ann Arbor, Flint and Dearborn campuses, students and alumni — all of whom are appointed by the Board of Regents on the recommendation of the president.

“With their deep connections to our university and its highest ideals, our faculty, students, staff and alumni are ideally suited to bring forward honorary degree nominations,” Solomon said. “I invite all members of our community to consider this important process.”

Although nominations can be submitted at any time, the committee typically meets once in the fall and once in the spring to consider nominations.

Past U-M honorary degree recipients include President Barack Obama, Gov. Rick Snyder, U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor, journalist Christiane Amanpour, neurosurgeon Sanjay Gupta and President Gerald R. Ford.

U-M commencement speakers are typically drawn from the pool of those approved for Honorary Degrees.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.