U-M students receive prestigious scholarships, fellowships


Seven University of Michigan undergraduates, graduate students or graduates have been awarded prestigious national and international scholarships that will allow them to continue their studies in coming years.

The applications and recruitment process for these awards are overseen by the Office of National Scholarships and Fellowships. The scholarships and their recipients are:

Goldwater Scholarship

Marcus Gozon, Devarshi Mukherji and Tirth Patel

The Goldwater Scholarship offers $7,500 in support to undergraduates.

Gozon is a junior double-majoring in mathematics and computer science, and intends to pursue a Ph.D. in mathematics or theoretical computer science.

Mukherji is a junior studying neuroscience, and plans to pursue a joint M.D./Ph.D. focusing on the intersection between bioinformatics and cancer biology to advance targeted therapies for brain tumors.

Patel is a junior majoring in biomedical engineering planning to pursue a joint M.D./Ph.D.  with a focus on neuro-oncology and biomedical engineering.

STEM Research Career Award

Sanil Mittal

The STEM Research Career Award is a U-M based opportunity, particularly for international students who are unable to apply for national scholarships due to U.S. citizenship or permanent residency requirements.

Mittal is a junior double-majoring in astronomy and astrophysics and interdisciplinary physics, and minoring in business and entrepreneurship.

Beckman Scholarship

Chelsea Bujak and Allison Kaatz

The Beckman Scholars Program matches transfer students with top faculty researchers and awards them a 15-month mentored research period.

Bujak is a junior studying biology and intends to pursue a joint M.D./Ph.D. in neurology, virology or oncology.

Kaatz is a sophomore studying chemistry and also plans to obtain either a Ph.D. or a joint M.D./Ph.D.

Schwarzman Scholarship

Jordana Levine

The Schwarzman Scholars Program funds a year-long master’s program in global affairs at Tsinghua University in Beijing.

Levine is a senior double majoring in Middle Eastern studies and history of art. She plans to pursue a career in international relations and business.

These scholarships are in addition to the separate, earlier announcements that Emmanuel Orozco-Castellanos, a 2023 graduate, was named a Rhodes Scholar, and that law student Rana Thabata received a Paul and Daisy Soros Fellowship for New Americans.


Leave a comment

Please read our comment guidelines.