Two from U-M elected to the National Academy of Sciences


Two University of Michigan professors are among the 2023 inductees into the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest distinctions for a scientist or engineer in the United States.

The academy announced the election of 120 members and 23 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

U-M’s newly elected NAS members are:

  • Maria Carmen Lemos, professor of environment and sustainability, School for Environment and Sustainability; professor at the Program in the Environment, LSA; and principal investigator of the Great Lakes Integrated Sciences and Assessments program.
  • Robert Sellers, the Charles D. Moody Collegiate Professor of Psychology, and professor of psychology, LSA; professor of education, Marsal Family School of Education; and faculty associate, Institute for Social Research.

The newly elected NAS members bring the total number of active members to 2,565 and the total number of international members to 526. International members are nonvoting members of the academy, with citizenship outside the United States.

The NAS is a private, nonprofit institution established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863.

It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership and, with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine, provides science, engineering and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.