Three U-M researchers chosen for Sloan Foundation fellowships


Three University of Michigan researchers, whose fields include computer science, chemistry and neuroscience, have been named 2019 Sloan Research Fellows, a group of 126 early-career scholars recognized by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

The fellowships honor these scholars whose achievements mark them as among the most promising researchers in their fields.

Photo of Reetuparna Das
Reetuparna Das

Photo of Alison Narayan

Alison Narayan

Photo of Alexandra Rosati

Alexandra Rosati

Since the first Sloan Research Fellowships were awarded in 1955, 116 U-M faculty have received a fellowship. This year’s winners were:

Reetuparna Das, assistant professor of electrical engineering and computer science, College of Engineering. Fellowship awarded in computer science.

Alison Narayan, assistant professor of chemistry, LSA; and research assistant professor, Life Sciences Institute. Fellowship awarded in chemistry.

Alexandra Rosati, assistant professor of psychology and anthropology, LSA. Fellowship awarded in neuroscience.

The 2019 Sloan Research Fellows represent a diverse array of research interests from 57 colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. Winners receive a two-year, $70,000 fellowship to further their research.

“Sloan Research Fellows are the best young scientists working today,” said Adam Falk, president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. “Sloan Fellows stand out for their creativity, for their hard work, for the importance of the issues they tackle, and the energy and innovation with which they tackle them. To be a Sloan Fellow is to be in the vanguard of 21st century science.”

Past fellows include many towering figures in the history of science, including physicists Richard Feynman and Murray Gell-Mann, and game theorist John Nash. Forty-seven fellows have received a Nobel Prize in their respective field, 17 have won the Fields Medal in mathematics, 69 have received the National Medal of Science, and 18 have won the John Bates Clark Medal in economics, including every winner since 2007.

more information

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation is a philanthropic, not-for-profit grant making institution based in New York City. Established in 1934 by Alfred Pritchard Sloan Jr., then-president and chief executive officer of the General Motors Corp., the foundation makes grants in support of original research and education in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and economics.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.