Thirteen named senior fellows in Michigan Society of Fellows


The Michigan Society of Fellows is welcoming its newest cohort of 13 senior fellows.

The new senior fellows will join the 16 who were appointed in years past to help create a spirited intellectual community and serve as models, mentors and colleagues for the society’s postdoctoral fellows.

The Society of Fellows, under the auspices of the Rackham Graduate School, was founded in 1970 by seven U-M faculty members, including then-president Robben Fleming, to stimulate cross-disciplinary awareness and exchange.

Out of these conversations have come new ideas, methodological experiments and collaborative projects.

“The Society of Fellows serves a unique and vital function at the University of Michigan, especially in establishing a committed, connected community in which sustained dialogue can take place across disciplinary and generational lines,” said President Santa J. Ono.

Drawing from across all scholarly and artistic fields, the society welcomes six postdoctoral fellows each year for three-year terms, and a group of senior fellows, drawn from distinguished faculty across the university, for four-year terms.

Continuing the long tradition of presidential commitment to the society, Ono invited 13 candidates to join the society as senior fellows.

Senior fellows help select the newest cohort of postdoctoral fellows, participate in monthly dinners at which all the fellows present their newest work, and recommend a new cohort of senior fellows each year.

The latest senior fellows are:

  • Elizabeth A. Armstrong, Sherry B. Ortner Collegiate Professor of Sociology, professor of sociology and of women’s and gender studies in LSA.
  • Bénédicte Boisseron, professor of Afroamerican and African studies and of romance languages and literatures in LSA.
  • Charles Burant, Dr. Robert C. and Veronica Atkins Professor of Metabolism, and professor of internal medicine and of molecular and integrative physiology in the Medical School; and professor of nutritional sciences in the School of Public Health.
  • Natalie Colabianchi, professor of kinesiology in the School of Kinesiology; and research professor in the Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research.
  • Raven Garvey, associate professor of anthropology and associate curator in the Museum of Anthropological Archaeology in LSA.
  • Paula Lantz, University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor; James B. Hudak Professor of Health Policy and professor of public policy in the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; and professor of health management and policy in SPH.
  • Supriya Nair, professor of English language and literature in LSA.
  • Colleen Seifert, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; professor of psychology in LSA.
  • Hannah Smotrich, associate professor of art and design in the Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design.
  • Łukasz Stanek, professor of architecture in the A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning; and professor of history in LSA.
  • Kyle Whyte, University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor; George Willis Pack Professor, professor of environment and sustainability, and faculty director of the Tishman Center for Social Justice and the Environment in the School for Environment and Sustainability; and professor of philosophy in LSA.
  • Margaret Wooldridge; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Walter J. Weber, Jr. Professor of Sustainable Energy, Environmental and Earth Systems Engineering, and professor of mechanical engineering and of aerospace engineering in the College of Engineering.
  • Alford Young Jr., University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Edgar G. Epps Collegiate Professor of Sociology, professor of sociology and of Afroamerican and African studies in LSA; and professor of public policy in the Ford School.

Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.