Taking a break

Two young women share a laugh in 1937, sitting in a booth at the iconic Drake’s Sandwich Shop on North University Avenue, just east of State Street. (Photo courtesy of the Bentley Historical Library)

This month in history (73 years ago)

The U.S. Army’s Japanese Language School was opened at U-M in January 1943 under the direction of Assistant Professor Joseph K. Yamagiwa. During a 12-month course, students were taught to read, write and speak Japanese for service as combat intelligence officers. The students lived in East Quadrangle. Two classes attended concurrently until the program ended at Christmas 1945.

— From “The Making of The University of Michigan” by Howard H. Peckham


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.