Seventeen faculty members named 2022 AAAS fellows


The American Association for the Advancement of Science has elected 17 University of Michigan faculty and staff members as 2022 fellows.

AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the Science family of journals, announced that 506 scientists, engineers and innovators have been chosen for their scientifically and socially distinguished achievements.

“AAAS is proud to elevate these standout individuals and recognize the many ways in which they’ve advanced scientific excellence, tackled complex societal challenges and pushed boundaries that will reap benefits for years to come,” said Sudip Parikh, AAAS chief executive officer and executive publisher of the Science family of journals.

The U-M fellows are:

Angela Calabrese Barton, professor of education in the School of Education, for distinguished contributions to the fields of the learning sciences and science, technology, engineering and math education, particularly for the rightful presence framework for justice-oriented STEM teaching, learning and research for minority youth. A former chemistry teacher and informal science educator, she continues to teach after-school STEM in community centers and makerspaces, collaboratively with youth and university students, as a part of her research and practice.

Thomas Carey, distinguished research scientist emeritus and professor emeritus of otolaryngology and of pharmacology in the Medical School, for distinguished contributions to the field of otolaryngology, particularly for his research on the mechanisms of autoimmune hearing loss mediated by antibodies to inner ear antigens.

Roy Clarke, the Marcellus L. Wiedenbeck Collegiate Professor, University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor, and professor of physics in LSA, for distinguished contributions to the role of interfaces in thin films and quantum nanostructures. The Clarke group is actively involved in entrepreneurship resulting in several recent inventions and tech transfers.

Kara Gavin, lead public relations representative at Michigan Medicine and research and policy media relations manager for the U-M Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation, for distinguished contributions in communicating about science, medicine and health policy, and training researchers and biomedical students in communicating with the press and public.

Susan Gelman, the Heinz Werner Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Linguistics, and professor of psychology and of linguistics in LSA, for distinguished contributions in cognitive development, language acquisition, categorization, inductive reasoning, causal reasoning and relationships between language and thought.

Johann Gudjonsson, the Arthur C. Curtis Professor of Skin Molecular Immunology and professor of dermatology in the Medical School, for pioneering the use of high throughput biology to further our understanding of the genetics and pathophysiology of major inflammatory and immune skin diseases.

Purnima Kumar, the William K. and Mary Anne Najjar Professor of Dentistry and professor of dentistry in the School of Dentistry, for her contributions as the principal investigator of the Oral Microbial Ecology Laboratory, as well as extensive collaborations with the oral health care industry to develop therapeutics for microbial modulation.

Joerg Lahann, the Wolfgang Pauli Collegiate Professor of Chemical Engineering and professor of biomedical engineering, of materials science and engineering, and of macromolecular science and engineering in the College of Engineering, for distinguished contributions to the field of polymeric materials engineering, particularly biointerfaces prepared using chemical vapor polymerization.

Jie (Jackie) Li, professor of earth and environmental sciences in LSA, for her distinguished contributions to mineral physics, particularly on understanding the core formation of the Earth and other terrestrial planetary bodies.

Marina Pasca di Magliano, the Maude T. Lane Professor of Surgical Immunology, and professor of surgery and of cell and developmental biology in the Medical School, for distinguished contributions to the field of cancer biology, particularly tumors of the pancreas, and for leadership in graduate and postgraduate education and training.

Donna Martin, the Ravitz Foundation Endowed Professor of Pediatrics, professor of pediatrics and of human genetics in the Medical School, for distinguished contributions to the field of developmental neuroscience, particularly for modeling epigenetic disorders to treat human disease.

Walter Mebane, professor of political science and of statistics in LSA, and research professor in the Institute for Social Research’s Center for Political Studies, for distinguished contributions in election forensics, using statistical analysis to determine whether election results are accurate. 

Asma Nusrat, the F. Peyton Rous Professor of Experimental Pathology, professor of pathology, and director of Physician Scientist Training Program in the Medical School, for distinguished contributions to the field of pathology, particularly for providing insights into fundamental mechanisms controlling epithelial barrier function and repair under conditions of inflammation and during homeostasis.

Charles Parkos, the Carl Vernon Weller Professor of Pathology and professor of pathology in the Medical School, for distinguished contributions to the field of pathology, particularly for his research on the basic mechanisms of inflammation and modeling of the process of leukocyte transepithelial migration.

Randy Seeley, the Henry King Ransom Professor of Surgery and professor of surgery and of internal medicine in the Medical School, and professor of nutritional sciences in the School of Public Health, for distinguished contributions to the fields of food intake and body weight control.

Duxin Sun, the Charles Walgreen Jr. Professor of Pharmacy, and professor of pharmaceutical sciences in the College of Pharmacy, for distinguished contributions in drug development, nanomedicine and pharmacokinetics.

John Traynor, the Edward F. Domino Research Professor of Pharmacology, and professor of pharmacology and of medicinal chemistry in the College of Pharmacy, for outstanding contributions to understanding opiate receptor structure and function, opiate pharmacology and drug discovery, and mechanism of drug addiction, and for his exceptional administration in academe and professional societies.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.