Eight U-M scientists, engineers named AAAS fellows


Eight University of Michigan faculty members are among 401 newly elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Election as a fellow, a tradition that began in 1874, is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. AAAS fellows are recognized for their “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.”

The awards were announced Monday by AAAS. Founded in 1848, it is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.

 The new AAAS fellows from U-M are:

•  Rane Curl, professor emeritus of chemical engineering, College of Engineering. For pioneering quantitative methods in karst, deriving internationally used equations for flow velocity from relict solution features, and statistical methods for quantifying solutional cave patterns.

 • Gregory Dressler, collegiate professor of pathology research and professor of pathology, Medical School. For distinguished contributions to developmental biology and organogenesis, with particular emphasis on the kidney and the role of development mechanisms in kidney disease.

 • Deborah Goldberg, Elzada U. Clover Collegiate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, LSA. For distinguished contributions to community ecology with special reference to the mechanisms of species interactions and their role in community structure, dynamics and function.

 • Daniel Goldman, Bernard W. Agranoff Collegiate Professor of Neuroscience, professor of biological chemistry and research professor, Molecular and Behavioral Neuroscience Institute, Medical School. For distinguished contributions to the field of neurobiology, particularly the area of retinal regeneration.

 • Tom Kerppola, professor of biological chemistry, Medical School. For distinguished academic achievement and a high level of research productivity throughout his career related to transcriptional regulation, and for achieving international stature as a biochemist.

 • Roberto Merlin, Peter A. Franken Collegiate Professor of Physics, LSA, and professor of electrical engineering and computer science, College of Engineering. For investigation of condensed matter systems using continuous wave and ultrafast optical techniques and, in particular, spontaneous and impulsive (stimulated) Raman spectroscopy.

 • Mark Newman, Paul A. M. Dirac Collegiate Professor of Physics, LSA. For distinguished contributions to the field of network theory and the application of statistical mechanics methods to reveal the underlying topological structure of network systems.

• Patricia Ann Peyser, professor of epidemiology, School of Public Health. For distinguished contributions to the field of genetic epidemiology, particularly for discoveries in cardiovascular disease.

 This year’s AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of Science Nov. 28.

AAAS members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the association’s 24 sections, by any three fellows who are current members, or by the AAAS chief executive officer.



  1. Jeff McGuire
    on November 25, 2014 at 8:33 am


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.