Search is underway for next UM-Flint chancellor


The University of Michigan has officially launched a search for the next chancellor of the UM-Flint campus.

President Mark Schlissel has appointed a 17-member search advisory committee to assist in the search process. Schlissel will co-chair the committee with Robert Barnett, dean of the School of Education and Human Services, and professor of English in the College of Arts and Sciences, UM-Flint.

The search seeks a successor to Chancellor Susan E. Borrego, who announced that she will step down as UM-Flint’s leader when her current term is complete at the end of July 2019.

Robust outreach with campus stakeholders will begin in January. Community members who would like to submit feedback on the search can email [email protected].

“The Flint campus is an essential part of the University of Michigan, sharing in and helping to realize our values, aspirations and mission,” President Mark Schlissel said.

“Since starting as president, I have become well acquainted with the Flint campus and continue to be impressed by the dedication and quality of its faculty, students and staff and the commitment of the campus to serving the community.

“I am excited to get underway with this important search to continue building on the momentum created by Chancellor Borrego, especially regarding academic excellence, student success and community engagement.”

As with other searches for U-M executive officers including the UM-Dearborn chancellor, the selection process will remain confidential until Schlissel makes his recommendation to the Board of Regents.

“This confidentiality has proven essential in previous executive level searches to attract a large and outstanding pool of experienced and qualified candidates,” Schlissel said.

In addition to Schlissel and Barnett, members of the search advisory committee include:

• Bishr Al-Dabagh, alumnus, UM-Flint.

• Matthew Bueby, chair of the Staff Council, and alumni relations and annual giving specialist, UM-Flint.

• Constance Creech, professor of nursing and director of graduate nursing affairs in the School of Nursing, UM-Flint.

• Catherine A. Davy, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs, and professor of English, women’s studies and gender studies in the College of Arts, Sciences and Letters, UM-Dearborn.

• Eucharia Ganda, president of Student Government, and student in the College of Arts and Sciences, UM-Flint.

• Gerald Glasco, director of financial services and budget, UM-Flint.

• Gloria Hage, associate general counsel, Ann Arbor campus.

• Phil Hagerman, chief executive officer, Flint-based Skypoint Ventures.

• Kristi Hottenstein, vice chancellor for enrollment management, UM-Flint.

• Yener Kandogan, associate dean and professor of international business in the School of Management, UM-Flint.

• Derwin Munroe, lecturer IV in political science in the College of Arts and Sciences, UM-Flint.

• Emily Newberry, chair of the Faculty Council, and senior associate librarian, UM-Flint.

• Shelby Newport, chair of the Department of Theatre and Dance and associate professor of theatre in the College of Arts and Sciences, UM-Flint.

• Shan Parker, director of Public Health and Health Sciences and associate professor of health education in the College of Health Sciences, UM-Flint.

• Jessica Tischler, associate professor of organic chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences, UM-Flint.

The executive search firm Park Square Executive Search has been retained to assist in the effort, and consultants Jonathan Fortescue and Laurel Duggan will help with the search. Stephen Yaros, project manager in the Office of the President, will provide staff support.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.