Sarah Goddard Power, Rhetaugh Dumas award nominations sought


The Academic Women’s Caucus is accepting nominations from the university community for the 2021 Sarah Goddard Power and Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying awards. Nominations for both awards are due Nov. 1 and can be found at on the CEW+ website.


The Sarah Goddard Power Award recognizes those who have made significant achievements in contributing to the betterment of current challenges faced by women in one of the following areas: distinguished leadership, scholarship, or other activities related to their professional lives.

Eligible candidates include U-M faculty including instructors, lecturers, primary researchers, librarians, curators, and senior administrative staff.

Goddard Power was a major contributor to the advancement of higher education, an advocate for affirmative action and human rights, and a champion of freedom for the international press. A U-M regent for more than 12 years, she worked to advance the position of women and minorities in faculty and administrative roles.

The Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Award recognizes a U-M academic unit’s progress in establishing and maintaining a concurrent ethnic/racial and gender diversity at the full professor and associate professor ranks, both tenured and non-tenured, and concurrent ethnic/racial and gender diversifying in junior ranks.

Dumas was an esteemed leader with vision, insight, and wise counsel who had a major impact on the advancement of nursing, healthcare, and academic programs at U-M. She was appointed dean of the School of Nursing in 1981 and was reappointed in 1986 and 1991.

Honorees will be recognized at a virtual award ceremony on Feb. 10, 2021.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.