Regents’ Roundup


Editor’s Note: The following actions were taken by the Regents at their September meeting. (Other Roundup items appeared in the Sept. 24 issue of the Record .)

By Wono Lee
News and Information Services

Gifts received

The Regents formally accepted a total of $56,484,968 in gifts received by the University during June, July and August of this year.

The total included $33,400,295 from individuals, $7,644,818 from corporations, $11,650,760 from foundations, and $3,789,095 from associations and others.

Emeritus professors

Four faculty members were given the emeritus title by the Regents meeting. Those retiring are:

Gordon L. Flynn, professor of pharmaceutical sciences; Donald E. Hultquist, professor of biological chemistry; Arnold P. Morawa, associate professor of dentistry; and Marc H. Ross, professor of physics.

Flynn, who joined the faculty in 1972, has focused his research “on drug delivery phenomena, particularly the areas of percutaneous absorption theory and mechanisms, the enhancement of skin permeation, and the topical and transdermal delivery of drugs,” the Regents noted. “He has published approximately 175 research manuscripts, review articles and book chapters on the structure-physical property relationships of organic compounds, the physicochemical behavior of skin, percutaneous absorption and topical dosage forms, mass transfer and concepts in drug delivery. His research accomplishments have been pioneering, mechanistic and translational in bringing basic concepts to clinical reality.”

Hultquist joined the faculty in 1964. “In his research laboratory, he mentored nine biological chemistry doctoral students and a large number of students in undergraduate, medical and interdisciplinary graduate programs. His research focused on the catalysis of oxidation-reduction reactions in red blood cells and on the functioning of antioxidant systems. Previously unrecognized hemeproteins, copper proteins, reductases and proteases were isolated, chemically characterized and studied with regard to biological function and medical significance. He gained particular recognition for the elucidation of the methemoglobin reduction system and the system by which riboflavin prevents oxidative damage in tissues.”

Morawa joined the faculty in 1973 and was appointed assistant dean for alumni relations and continuing education at the School of Dentistry in 1990. “Dr. Morawa was an important contributor to the School,” the Regents said. “One of his key contributions was his oversight of the two-year Kellogg Building expansion and renovation project, completed in the fall of 2000. He also played a significant role during the School’s most successful five-year capital campaign. He has been active in numerous professional organizations, including the Michigan Dental Association, the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, the Michigan Academy of Pedodontics and the Washtenaw District Dental Society.”

Ross joined the faculty in 1963. “Although he was originally trained as a low-energy nuclear theorist, he shifted his attention to automobile energy usage in the mid-1970s. He is internationally known for his research regarding environmental implications of efficient energy uses of automobiles and the associated costs and emissions. His work in energy studies involves approaches from physics, economics, behavioral sciences and public policy. His primary focus has been on automobile energy usage, and he has conducted extensive simulations of engines, vehicles and driving to explore fuel economy improvement and pollution reduction.”

Endowed titled professorships

Faculty members appointed to endowed and titled professorships included:

Reuven S. Avi-Yonah, professor of law, will hold the Irwin I. Cohn Professorship of Law, effective Sept. 1.

Michael D. Cohen, professor of information, professor of political science, and professor of public policy, will hold the William D. Hamilton Collegiate Professorship of Complex Systems, effective Sept. 1.

Dimitri N. Coucouvanis, professor of chemistry, will hold the Lawrence S. Bartell Collegiate Professorship of Chemistry, effective Sept. 1.

Peter Ho Davies, assistant professor of English, will hold the William Wilhartz Assistant Professorship of English, effective Sept. 1.

Joel D. Howell, professor of internal medicine, professor of health management and policy, and professor of history, will hold the Victor Vaughan Collegiate Professorship of the History of Medicine, effective Sept. 22.

Vassilios Lambropoulos, professor of modern Greek studies, will hold the C.P. Cavafy Professorship of Modern Greek Studies, effective Sept. 1.

Deborah C. Malamud, professor of law, will hold the James E. and Sarah A. Degan Professorship of Law, effective Sept. 1.

W. Russell Neuman, professor of communication studies, will hold the John Derby Evans Professorship of Media Technology, effective Sept. 1.

Jamie L. Nix, assistant professor of conducting and director of the Marching Band, will hold the Donald R. Shepherd Chair in Conducting, effective Sept. 1.

Gabriel Nunez, professor of pathology, will hold the Paul de Kruif Professorship of Academic Pathology, effective Sept. 1.

Peter A. Railton, the James B. and Grace J. Nelson Professor of Philosophy and professor of philosophy, will hold the John Stephenson Perrin Professorship, effective Sept. 1.

Nancy B. Reisman, a faculty member at the University of Florida, will become the Helen Herzog Zell Professor of Fiction at the U-M, effective Sept. 1.

Sidonie A. Smith, professor of English and professor of women’s studies, will hold the Martha Guernsey Colby Collegiate Professorship of English and Women’s Studies, effective Sept. 1.

Sarah G. Thomason, professor of linguistics, will hold the William J. Gedney Collegiate Professorship of Linguistics, effective Sept. 1.

Rob Van der Voo, professor of geological sciences, will hold the Frank H.T. Rhodes Collegiate Professorship of Geological Sciences, effective Sept. 1.

J. David Velleman, professor of philosophy, will hold the James B. and Grace J. Nelson Professorship of Philosophy, effective Sept. 1.

Prof. Avi-Yonah is “widely recognized as a leading scholar in the field of international law and international taxation,” said Jeffrey S. Lehman, dean of the Law School. “His major articles address such questions as international taxation of electronic commerce, globalization and the international ramifications of taxation policy choices made by the United States. He also has been active in the profession, serving as a member of the Executive Committee of the Tax Section of the New York State Bar Association and a member of the United States Income Advisory Board, Tax Management. He has been a consultant to the U.S. Treasury Office of Tax Policy.”


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.