Regents’ Roundup


The University Record, April 19, 1999

Editor’s Note: The following actions were taken by the Regents at their April meeting.

$14 million in gifts accepted

The Regents accepted $14,367,802 in gifts received during March. The total included $8,028,592 from individuals, $3,878,283 from corporations, $1,353,841 from foundations and $1,107,086 from associations and others.

Tenure appointments OK’d

Tenured faculty appointments included:

Shirley Neuman, from the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada, will be LS&A dean, and professor of English and of women’s studies, effective Aug. 1.

Nancy A. Rigotti, a faculty member at Harvard Medical School, will be associate professor of internal medicine, effective July 1.

Administrative appointments OK’dAdministrative appointments included:

Mark P. Becker, professor of biostatistics, was reappointed associate dean for academic affairs, School of Public Health, for a three-year term, effective Sept. 1.

Paul C. Boylan, professor of music and vice provost for the arts, was reappointed dean of the School of Music for a one-year term, effective July 1.

Robert H. Gray, professor of environmental and industrial health, was reappointed senior associate dean for research and facilities, School of Public Health, for a three-year term, effective July 1.

Richard D. Woods, professor of civil engineering, was reappointed chair of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, effective Sept. 1, 1999-Aug. 31, 2001.

Henry I. Mosberg, professor of medicinal chemistry, will serve as associate dean for research and graduate education, College of Pharmacy, for a three-year term effective April 1.

Diane K. Vinokur, associate professor of social work, will be interim associate dean, School of Social Work, effective Jan. 1-May 30, 2000.

3 named to endowed, titled professorships

Appointments to endowed and titled professorships included:

Michael Boehnke, professor of biostatistics, will hold the Pharmacia & Upjohn Foundation Research Professorship in Biostatistics.

Boehnke is “an internationally recognized leader in the development and application of statistical methods for gene mapping and complex diseases,” said Noreen M. Clark, dean of the School of Public Health. “He and his research colleagues from public health, medicine, and mathematics are pioneering statistical methods for analysis of data related to gene mapping and genetic determinants of disease. His stature, coupled with the quality of the work of his research partners, places Michigan at the top both nationally and internationally in this crucial new area of inquiry.”

Mamadou Diouf, research director of CODESRIA, Dakar, Senegal, will be the University of Michigan Presidential Professor of History and of Afroamerican and African Studies, Sept. 1, 1999-May 30, 2000.

Diouf is “exceptionally well-placed to bring the U-M into contact with research and education throughout the African continent,” said Lester P. Monts, associate provost for academic affairs. “His influence in African and Third World studies is solidly rooted in his own achievements. He is often described as a ‘second-generation’ scholar, coming of intellectual age after African independence, no longer willing to make the simple point that Africa has a history and insistent on a complex analysis of what constitutes that history. He has written on a wide range of subjects, both empirically grounded studies of Senegal and theoretically sophisticated analyses of issues in the study of colonial and post-colonial societies.”

Robert T. Todd III, professor of internal medicine, will hold the Frances and Victor Ginsberg Professorship of Hematology/Oncology.

Todd has “distinguished himself as an outstanding investigator in the area of leukocyte cell biology,” said Allen S. Lichter, interim dean of the Medical School. “His bibliography reflects over 140 publications in highly respected peer-reviewed journals, and his research program is well funded by the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Todd’s expertise is further recognized through his membership on the editorial boards of the Journal of Immunology and the Journal of Clinical Investigation. In addition to his exciting research program, Dr. Todd is a skilled teacher and clinician.”

Pebworth granted emeritus status

Ted-Larry Pebworth, professor of English at U-M-Dearborn, was given the emeritus title.

Pebworth, who joined the Dearborn faculty in 1971, “has published widely on 17th-century English literature and on textual theory,” the Regents noted. “Among his books are studies of Ben Jonson and Owen Felltham, as well as editions of Felltham, Jonson, and collections of essays on numerous l7th-century figures and topics. He is a senior textual editor and member of the advisory board of the Variorum Edition of the Poetry of John Donne and is a past president of the John Donne Society. His honors include U-M-Dearborn’s Outstanding Faculty Research Award, the John Donne Society’s Distinguished Publication Award, and Michigan Association of Governing Boards of State Universities’ Distinguished Faculty Award.”


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.