Regents Roundup


The following items were approved by the Board of Regents at its Jan. 22 meeting

New basketball player development center planned

A new player development center for the men’s and women’s intercollegiate basketball programs adjacent to Crisler Arena is planned. Jickling Lyman Powell Associates Inc. have been selected to design the 50,000-gross-square-foot facility to house two basketball practice courts, locker rooms, training, coaching and support spaces. Athletics Department resources and gifts will fund the $23.2 million project.

Capital outlay request submitted to the State

In December the Ann Arbor, Dearborn and Flint campuses each submitted annual requests for capital funding and a five-year capital plan to the State of Michigan. When capital outlay funding is made available for a university project by the state legislature and the governor, it usually provides two-thirds of the cost of a construction project. The Ann Arbor request is for the renovation and addition to the G.G. Brown Laboratory Building for $110 million. The Dearborn request is to renovate the Science Building and the Computer Science Building with their shared infrastructure for $41 million. The Flint request is to renovate the labs and classrooms in the Murchie Science Laboratory Building for $22 million.

New degree in arts and design established

The Board of Regents approved on Jan. 22 a new Bachelor of Arts degree in arts and design. Bachelor of Fine Arts students currently must take 72 studio credits. The new BA degree requires fewer studio credits (42) and allows students to take a broader range of courses from departments outside of the School of Art & Design. Dean Bryan Rogers says the aim is to offer an education grounded in the visual arts with flexibility so students may explore their educational pursuits outside of the art and design curriculum. The first students will enter the new program in fall 2010.

Faculty appointments with tenure

Thomas Finholt, professor of information, School of Information, effective Jan. 1
James Penner-Hahn, professor biophysics, LSA, effective Jan. 1.

Named professorships

Michael Bernitsas, Mortimer E. Cooley Collegiate Professor of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering, College of Engineering (CoE), effective Jan. 1, 2009-Dec. 31, 2013.
R. Paul Drake, Henry S. Carhart Collegiate Professor of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Sciences, CoE, effective Jan. 1, 2009-Dec. 31, 2013.
Hosagrahar Jagadish, Bernard A. Galler Collegiate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, CoE, effective Jan. 1, 2009-Dec. 31, 2013.
Mark Kushner, George I. Haddad Collegiate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, CoE, effective Jan. 1, 2009-Dec. 31, 2013
Dr. Jorge Marrero, Keith S. Henley, Collegiate Professor of Gastroenterology, Medical School, effective Jan. 1, 2009-Aug. 31, 2014.
Mercedes Pascual, Rosemary Grant Collegiate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2009-Aug. 31, 2013
Noel Perkins, Donald T. Greenwood Collegiate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, CoE, effective Jan. 1, 2009-Dec. 31, 2013.
Dr. Terry Smith, Frederick G.L. Huetwell Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences, Medical School, effective March 1.
Anthony Waas, Felix W. Pawlowski Collegiate Professor of Aerospace Engineering, CoE, effective Jan. 1, 2009-Dec. 31, 2013.

Administrative appointments

William Martin, reappointed chair, Department of Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, CoE, effective Sept. 1, 2009-Aug. 31, 2010.
Dr. Carol Bradford, chair, Department of Otorhinolaryngology, Medical School, effective Jan. 1.
Elizabeth Halloran, assistant vice president for development, Office of the Vice President for Development, effective Feb. 1.
Christina Whitman, vice provost for academic and faculty affairs, Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, effective July 1, 2009-June 30, 2012.


Paula Allen-Meares, Norma Radin Collegiate Professor of Social Work, professor of social work, former dean of the School of Social Work, and professor of education, School of Education, effective Jan. 15. She joined the University in 1993. Her research interests included psychopathology in children, adolescents and families, and the tasks and functions of social workers in educational settings. Allen-Meares leaves to become University of Illinois at Chicago chancellor.

Dr. Frederick Burgett, professor of dentistry, School of Dentistry, effective Dec. 31, 2008. Burgett joined U-M in 1972. He served as director of undergraduate education in periodontics and implemented the innovative patient-centered, vertically integrated clinical program, which is still in place today. He served three terms on the executive committee and conducted annual training sessions for more than 300 dental examiners.

James Carey Jr., assistant professor of radiation physics, Medical School, assistant professor of environmental health sciences, School of Public Health, effective Aug. 31, 2008. Carey joined the faculty in 1967. He co-authored 30 publications, three books and six book chapters. He served as president for the Great Lakes Chapter of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine as well as the Central Chapter of the Society of Nuclear Medicine.

Allen Samuels, professor of art and former dean of the School of Art & Design, effective Dec. 31, 2008. He joined the University in 1975, where he served as the dean of A&D from 1993-99. He is the recipient of the prestigious International Design Red Dot Award and initiated a dual degree program with CoE involving industrial design and mechanical engineering.

Dr. Robert Todd, Frances and Victor Ginsberg Professor of Hematology/Oncology and professor of internal medicine, Medical School, effective Nov. 12, 2008. Todd joined U-M in 1984 as associate professor of internal medicine and served as associate chair of Department of Internal Medicine from 1989-1992.He has published more than 150 peer-reviewed articles and 28 book chapters, and holds three patents.

Harry Clark Winter, research assistant professor, Department of Biological Chemistry in the Medical School, effective Sept. 16, 2008. Winter joined the University in 1975 where he made major contributions to the field of glycobiology. As a skilled and professional biochemist, he promoted cooperative learning with the biological chemistry department.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.