Regents Roundup


The following items were approved by the Board of Regents at its Nov. 20 meeting.

Ruthven project to replace two elevators

The two elevators at the Alexander G. Ruthven Museums Building will be replaced. The $1.5 million project will be funded from the General Fund and is expected to be completed in the winter of 2010.

Infrastructure, finishes to be upgraded at SPH2

The Thomas Francis Jr. Public Health Building (SPH2) will receive infrastructure upgrades, including work to the electrical system and backup power system, as well as updates to finishes and furniture. The $9.475 million project will be paid for by School of Public Health Resources and University investment proceeds, and is scheduled for completion in the fall of 2011.

Project slated for Taubman Health Care Center

A renovation project is planned to reconfigure the patient registration areas on levels 1-3 of the A. Alfred Taubman Health Care Center. The $1.39 million project will be funded from Hospitals and Health Centers resources and is scheduled to be completed in the fall of 2010.

Hospital to upgrade air units

University Hospital will receive upgrades to its air handling units, including new energy-efficient heating coils and humidifiers. Hospitals and Health Centers resources will pay for the $2.5 million project scheduled for completion in the winter of 2010.

Morgue to be renovated, expanded

The University Hospital morgue will be renovated and expanded to increase operational capacity. The $1.35 million project, funded from Hospitals and Health Centers resources, is scheduled to be completed next fall. The morgue will be closed during renovations, but operations will continue at a temporary site.

Faculty promotions and appointments with tenure

Margaret Scisney-Matlock, professor of nursing, School of Nursing, effective Sept. 1.

Nicholas Valentino, professor of communication studies, and professor of political science, LSA, effective Jan.1, 2009.

A. Van Jordan, professor of English language and literature, with tenure, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2009.

Named professorships

Dr. G. Michael Deeb, reappointed Herbert Sloan Collegiate Professor of Cardiac Surgery, Medical School, effective Dec.1, 2008-Aug. 31, 2013.

Dr. John Heckenlively, reappointed Paul R. Lichter Professor of Ophthalmic Genetics, Medical School, effective Dec. 1, 2008-Aug. 31, 2013.

Michael Kennedy, Ronald and Eileen Weiser Professor of European and Eurasian Studies, LSA, effective Nov. 1, 2008-June 30, 2011.

Paula Lantz, S. J. Axelrod Collegiate Professor of Health Management and Policy, School of Public Health, effective Dec. 1, 2008-Nov. 30, 2013.

Larsen Louder, T. H. Hildebrandt Research Assistant Professor of Mathematics, LSA, effective Nov. 1, 2008-May 31, 2011.

Administrative appointments

Brian DiBlassio, interim chair, U-M-Flint Department of Music, College of Arts and Sciences, effective Jan. 1, 2009-April 30, 2009.

Lynn Johnson, assistant dean for informatics and innovation, School of

Dentistry, effective Nov. 1, 2008-Oct. 31, 2013.

Nicholas Lukacs, assistant dean for research faculty, Medical School, effective Nov. 1.

Dennis Lopatin, reappointed senior associate dean, School of Dentistry, effective Jan. 1, 2009-Dec. 31, 2013.

Marita Titler, associate dean for practice and clinical scholarship development, Rhetaugh Graves Dumas Professor of Nursing, and professor of nursing, School of Nursing, effective Jan. 1, 2009.


Donald Anderson, professor of political science in the College of Arts, Sciences and Letters at U-M-Dearborn, effective April 30. Anderson joined the University in 1969. He is a nationally recognized expert on the American presidency and is considered a leading authority on the presidency of William Howard Taft. He played a central role in the creation of the Dearborn campus’ Faculty Senate.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.