Editor’s Note: The following actions were taken by the Board of Regents at its March meeting.

6 Distinguished University Professorships approved

Six Distinguished University Professorships were approved, bringing the total to 18.

“Individuals appointed to these prestigious professorships have attained national and international recognition for originality and scholarly achievement,” Provost Gilbert R. Whitaker Jr. said. “Each has demonstrated teaching skill and recognized breadth of interest as well as depth of achievement in their fields.”

Nine Distinguished University Professorships were established in 1947 and three more were added in 1989. The six additional professorships are recommended “because of the gradual increase in the size of the faculty over the years and the ongoing need to recognize outstanding faculty,” Whitaker said.

The professorships carry an annual $3,000 salary and $5,000 research stipends, funded from a combination of endowment and bequest sources. Appointments to the professorships are unlimited in duration and the title, without the stipend, may be retained after retirement.

Chamberlin will be interim chair of communication

John R. Chamberlin, professor of political science and public policy and associate dean for academic appointments in LS&A, also will serve as interim chair of the Department of Communication for a one-year term, effective July 1.

Faculty appointments approved

Faculty appointments, with tenure, included:

Laurence H. Baker, from Wayne State University, will become professor of internal medicine, effective May 1.

Robert A. Zucker, from Michigan State University, will be professor of psychology in the Department of Psychiatry, effective April 1.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.