Nominees sought for three awards administered by CEW+


The Center for the Education of Women+ is seeking nominations for three awards: the Carol Hollenshead Inspire Award for Excellence in Promoting Equity and Social Change, the Sarah Goddard Power Award and the Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Award.

The Carol Hollenshead Inspire Award honors former director Carol Hollenshead’s 20-year tenure at CEW+ and is for sustained efforts that have resulted in greater equity in regard to gender, race, class, age, disability, gender identity or sexual orientation at U-M or beyond.

The award amount is $1,000 for individuals and $2,000 for groups. Eligible applicants include those faculty, staff, postdoctorate researchers, research fellows and students who will be enrolled or employed at any U-M campus during the 2023-24 academic year.

Contact Liz DeBetta,, with questions about the Hollenshead Award.

The Academic Women’s Caucus is accepting nominations from the university community for the 2023 Sarah Goddard Power and Rhetaugh G. Dumas awards.

Sarah Goddard Power was a major contributor to the advancement of higher education, an advocate for affirmative action and human rights, and a champion of freedom for the international press. A U-M regent for more than 12 years, she worked to advance the position of women and minorities in faculty and administrative roles.

The Sarah Goddard Power Award recognizes those who have made significant achievements in contributing to the betterment of current challenges faced by women through distinguished leadership, scholarship or other activities related to their professional lives.

Rhetaugh G. Dumas, a vice provost emerita, was an esteemed leader with vision, insight and wise counsel who had a major impact on the advancement of nursing, health care and academic programs at U-M.

Dumas was the first African American woman to serve as a dean at U-M when she was appointed dean of the School of Nursing in 1981. She remained dean until 1994 when she was named the inaugural vice provost for health affairs and the Lucille Cole Professor of Nursing.

The Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Award recognizes a U-M academic unit’s progress in establishing and maintaining concurrent ethnic/racial and gender diversity at the full professor and associate professor ranks, both tenured and non-tenured, and concurrent ethnic/racial and gender diversification in its junior ranks.

Contact Tiffany Marra at, Pat Coleman-Burns at, or Marilee Benore at with any questions about the Goddard-Power and Dumas awards.

The deadline for all award applications is Oct. 23. Recipients will be recognized at an award ceremony on Feb. 7, 2024.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.