Even as a young man, Ndaba Mandela carries countless memories with him. His grandfather, international icon Nelson Mandela, is central to many of them.

The younger Mandela will share some of these memories, and more, in the 2015 William K. McInally Memorial Lecture: “The Power of One” from 5-6:30 p.m. Jan. 19 in Blau Auditorium at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business.

“Ndaba Mandela is carrying the torch that his grandfather passed on to him, reminding us of our own civil and human rights accomplishments of the past, and inspiring us to leverage those gains today,” said T. Shá Duncan Smith, director of diversity and inclusion at the Ross School.

Ndaba Mandela

“Like Nelson Mandela and Dr. King before him, Ndaba understands the power of working together to solve society’s most pressing problems. This lecture is the perfect opportunity to bring together different generations as we honor our past, celebrate our present and galvanize our future.”

Ancestors occupy an integral space in the lives and culture of the Xhosa tribe, to which Mandela’s Thembu clan belongs. In honor of his beloved ancestor, Ndaba Mandela is determined to carry on his grandfather’s walk to freedom.

As co-founder and chairman of the Africa Rising Foundation, Ndaba works to redefine and reshape the conversation about Africa there and abroad, and to increase the continent’s potential for growth in education, employment and international corporate alliances.

His message of hope and promise fuels his and his grandfather’s core vision that one person can make a difference.

Black Entertainment Television named Ndaba Mandela one of the 2014 “28 Men of Change” in recognition of his leadership of the Africa Rising Foundation, his service as deputy president of the Pan-African Youth Council, and his instrumental role in creating the United Nation’s annual International Day of Happiness.

The McInally Lecture began in 1966 in memory of William McInally, who served on the Board of Regents from 1960-64. Previous McInally lecturers include Madeleine Albright, Andrew Young, Martha Seger, F. Lee Bailey, C.K. Prahalad, Richard Tedlow and Zainab Salbi.