National Academies of Practice inducts six from U-M for 2024


Six members of the University of Michigan community have been inducted as Distinguished Fellows in the National Academies of Practice, an alliance of health care professionals who collaborate to transform health and well-being.

The group includes faculty members and clinicians from U-M’s Ann Arbor and Flint campuses and Michigan Medicine.

The 2024 U-M inductees are:

  • Kristin C. Klein, clinical professor of pharmacy, College of Pharmacy; clinical pharmacist, UMH Pharmacy Services.
  • Rajesh S. Mangrulkar, Marguerite S. Roll Professor of Medical Education, professor of internal medicine and of learning health sciences, Medical School; director of the Center for Interprofessional Education; executive director of Research. Innovation. Scholarship. Education. (RISE).
  • Michelle Pardee, clinical associate professor of nursing, School of Nursing.
  • Laura J. Smith, associate professor of physical therapy, College of Health Sciences, UM-Flint.
  • Dana Tschannen, clinical professor of nursing and associate dean for undergraduate studies, School of Nursing.
  • Anita Vereb, audiologist, Michigan Medicine.

The Distinguished Fellows were inducted March 16 as part of the Annual NAP Meeting and Forum.

Distinguished Fellows must be nominated by an active NAP fellow, and are then selected based on a review of their portfolio. The criteria centers on the candidate’s commitment to shaping and advocating for interprofessional practice and accessible, affordable health care for all.

“On behalf of my U-M colleagues, I can say that we were all incredibly honored to be part of this inductee class,” Mangrulkar said.

“The National Academies of Practice is a unique community where we collaborate to advocate for the kinds of policies and legislation that are needed to advance the health of our patients and communities. This advocacy channels many diverse perspectives into one voice, which has a strong potential to influence real change at the national, state and local levels.”

Also at the annual conference, U-M presenters led roundtable discussions on the Center for Interprofessional Education’s Interprofessional Community Health Collaborative, and on how interprofessional education centers can add value to health care systems.

The NAP was founded in 1981 to advise governmental bodies on the health care system.

Distinguished practitioners and scholars are elected by their peers from multiple different health professions to join the only interprofessional group of health care practitioners and scholars dedicated to supporting affordable, accessible, coordinated quality health care for all.

Since 2020, three U-M faculty members have been named NAP Distinguished Fellows. This year’s induction of six members shows the growing commitment and dedication to interprofessional education and teamwork happening at the university.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.