Michigan Society of Fellows names eight new members


The Michigan Society of Fellows has selected eight new fellows out of more than 900 applications to serve three-year appointments as postdoctoral scholars and assistant professors, beginning this fall.

The fellows were chosen for the importance and quality of their scholarship and for their interest in interdisciplinary work. During their tenure at the University of Michigan they will teach selected courses in their affiliated departments and continue their scholarly research.

The new fellows, with their affiliated department at U-M, their degree-granting institution, and their research project are:

• Ania Aizman, Slavic languages and literatures, Harvard University, “Anarchism in Russian Culture.”

• Jonathan Bruno, law, Harvard University, “Secrecy, Transparency, and Political Ethics.”

• Shane DuBay, ecology and evolutionary biology, The University of Chicago, “Using Natural History Collections to Track Pollution, Policy, and their Impacts on Wildlife.”

• Joseph Feldblum, anthropology, Duke University, “Competition, Cooperation, and Social Structure in Chimpanzees.”

• Blake Gutt, romance languages and literatures, University of Cambridge, “Representations of Gender Transition and Transformation in Medieval European Literature and Culture.”

• Mihaela Mihailova, screen arts and cultures, Yale University, “The Politics of Labor in Global Digital Media Industries.”

• Mitchell Newberry, complex systems, University of Pennsylvania, “Inference in Evolving Systems.”

• Bryan Norwood, architecture, Harvard University, “The Formation of the Architectural Profession in Nineteenth-Century America.”

Fellows appointed in previous years who will continue as members of the Society of Fellows are: Aniket Aga, environment and sustainability; Tierra Bills, civil and environmental engineering; Laura Finch, English language and literature; Cynthia Gerlein-Safdi, climate and space sciences and engineering; Linda Gosner, classical studies; Thomas Kelly, Asian languages and cultures; Kevin Ko, history; James Macmillen, urban planning; Benjamin Mangrum, English language and literature; Brendan McMahon, history of art; Lynette Shaw, complex systems; Marlous van Waijenburg, economics; Ana Maria Vinea, Near Eastern studies; and Kelli Wood, history of art.

The Michigan Society of Fellows was founded in 1970 with grants from the Ford Foundation and Horace H. and Mary Rackham Funds. The society provides financial and intellectual support to individuals selected for professional promise and interdisciplinary interests.

Competition for the fellowships is open to eligible candidates in the physical and life sciences, engineering, the social sciences, education, the humanities and the arts.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.