Fourteen faculty members selected as public engagement fellows


The Office of the Vice President for Research has selected 14 University of Michigan faculty members to participate in a fellowship program that provides resources and support for scholars and researchers incorporating public engagement into their work. 

Since launching in 2020, the Public Engagement Faculty Fellowship program has supported 75 U-M researchers in their pursuit of ethical, equitable and effective public engagement through research and creative practice.

The fellowship offers an opportunity for faculty members to consider how they can prioritize outward engagement in their scholarly activity and translate it into meaningful public impacts.

This year’s faculty cohort represents 10 schools and colleges from across the Ann Arbor and Dearborn campuses.

“The fellows in this year’s cohort bring unique perspectives to the program and will add greatly to the breadth and depth of impactful research and engagement work that PEFF supports,” said Ellen Parakkat, program manager for the Office of Public Engagement and Research Impacts based in OVPR.

“It is really exciting to see and bring together so many creative, passionate faculty interested in ensuring that their work results in societal impacts.”

Fellows and mentor fellows receive financial and in-kind support as part of the fellowship. Mentor fellows are faculty members with previous experience in public engagement and an interest in sharing how these experiences have shaped their scholarship, while fellows are interested in significant learning, growth and exploration in public engagement.

The 2024 mentor fellows are:

  • Karyn Lacy, associate professor of sociology, LSA.
  • Mike Shriberg, professor of practice and engagement, School for Environment and Sustainability.

The 2024 fellows are:

  • Pamela Aronson, professor of sociology, College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters, UM-Dearborn.
  • Rachel Bergmans, research assistant professor of anesthesiology, Medical School.
  • Deepa Butoliya, assistant professor of art and design, Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design.
  • Rona Carter, associate professor of psychology, LSA.
  • M. Candace Christensen, associate professor of social work, School of Social Work.
  • Timothy Chupp, professor of physics, LSA.
  • Emily Dove-Medows, assistant professor of nursing, School of Nursing.
  • Leonardo Kattari, assistant professor of health and human services, College of Education, Health, & Human Services, UM-Dearborn.
  • Nigel P. Melville, associate professor of technology and operations, Stephen M. Ross School of Business.
  • Rosemary J. Perez, associate professor of education, Marsal Family School of Education.       
  • David Potter, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Francis W. Kelsey Collegiate Professor of Greek and Roman History, professor of Greek and Latin, LSA.
  • Jeremy Wright-Kim, assistant professor of education, Marsal Family School of Education.

During a five-week Studio Experience program, the fellows and mentor fellows will network, learn about many forms of public engagement and develop skills and project plans. This capacity-building phase allows the mentors and fellows to consider the variety of avenues available to create outward impacts with their work.

After completing the Studio phase, the faculty members will be eligible to apply for up to $15,000 in funding, as well as in-kind support from OVPR and other university partners, to implement their ideas into real-world projects.

“Public engagement is absolutely critical to our success as a leading public research university, which is why programs like this that engage faculty in this important space are so essential,” said Nick Wigginton, associate vice president for research – strategic initiatives.

“The resources and opportunities created by this innovative program empower researchers to work with partners within and outside of the university to have a real, tangible impact.”


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.