Five U-M faculty elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences


The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has elected five U-M faculty members and leaders as 2014 fellows in the elite organization that includes 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

The Cambridge, Massachusetts-based academy, which convenes leaders from the academic, business and government sectors “to respond to the challenges facing the nation and the world,” announced the 204 new members Wednesday.

The fellows include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders.

The U-M faculty named as fellows are:

Deborah Ball

Arul Chinnaiyan

Linda Gregerson

Mary Kelley

James Morrow

• Deborah Loewenberg Ball, dean of the School of Education, William H. Payne Collegiate Professor, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, research professor at the Institute for Social Research, director of TeachingWorks.

Ball is a national leader in teacher education development with a focus on mathematics teaching.

• Dr. Arul Chinnaiyan, director of the Michigan Center for Translational Pathology, S.P. Hicks Endowed Professor of Pathology, American Cancer Society Research Professor, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator.

Chinnaiyan’s research focuses on functional genomics, proteomic and bioinformatic approaches to study cancer.

• Linda Gregerson, Caroline Walker Bynum Distinguished University Professor of English in LSA.

An award-winning author and poet, Gregerson’s poems have appeared in Best American Poetry as well as the Atlantic Monthly, Poetry, Ploughshares, Yale Review and other publications.

• Mary Kelley, Ruth Bordin Collegiate Professor of History in LSA.

Her scholarship focuses on 19th-century women writers, women’s intellectual history, American intellectual history, American culture and women’s studies. She is the author of several books including, “Learning to Stand and Speak: Women, Education, and Public Life in America’s Republic.”

• James Morrow, A.F.K. Organski Collegiate Professor of World Politics, professor of political science in LSA; research professor at the Center for Political Studies in the Institute for Social Research.

Morrow’s research addresses theories of international politics. He pioneered the application of noncooperative game theory, drawn from economics, to international politics. His published work covers topics including crisis bargaining, the causes of war, military alliances, power transition theory and links between international trade and conflict.

“It is a privilege to honor these men and women for their extraordinary individual accomplishments,” said Don Randal, chair of the AAAS board of directors.

“The knowledge and expertise of our members give the academy a unique capacity — and responsibility — to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing challenges of the day. We look forward to engaging our new members in this work.”

An induction ceremony will be Oct 11 in Cambridge.



  1. Gregory Harbaugh
    on April 24, 2014 at 12:14 pm

    Congratulations to these accomplished men and women, but when I was at Michigan I also learned a great deal from my incredible classmates.

Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.