Committee named to aid search for next Bentley director


Michael J. Solomon, dean of the Rackham Graduate School and vice provost for academic affairs – graduate studies, has announced the creation of an advisory committee to assist with the search for the next director of the Bentley Historical Library.

The nine-member committee of faculty members, staff members and a graduate student is looking for a successor to Terrence McDonald, who has announced that he will step down Aug. 31 to return to the LSA faculty. McDonald was dean of LSA prior to joining the library in 2013.

In an email to members of the Bentley Historical Library community, Solomon said he asked the committee to conduct a broad search and present an unranked slate of recommended candidates.

“I look forward to the selection of a new director who will seek to further enhance the library’s excellence in scholarship, curation, learning and public engagement,” he wrote.

Angela Dillard, chair of the Department of History, Richard A. Meisler Collegiate Professor of Afroamerican and African Studies and in the Residential College, and professor of history, LSA, is the committee chair. The other members are:

  • Amy Harris,director of the U-M Museum of Natural History.
  • Brian Williams, assistant director and archivist for university history, Bentley Historical Library.
  • Deirdre de la Cruz, associate professor of Southeast Asian studies and associate professor of history, LSA.
  • Emily Na, graduate student in American Culture, LSA.
  • Joe Cialdella, senior program lead for public scholarship, Rackham School of Graduate Studies.
  • Kristin Hass, faculty coordinator, Humanities Collaboratory, and associate professor of American Culture, LSA.
  • Lara Zielin, editorial director, Bentley Historical Library.
  • Ricky Punzalan, associate professor of information, School of Information.

Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.