Six university-affiliated researchers and six Lansing-based policymakers will participate in a series of seminars and experiential learning opportunities focused on health policy and practice in Michigan and nationally.

more information

The Center for Health and Research Transformation at the University of Michigan began its 2019 Policy Fellowships on Thursday, and they will continue for the next four months.

“The CHRT Policy Fellows contribute in so many important ways,” said CHRT Executive Director Marianne Udow-Phillips. “From Governor Whitmer’s chief strategist to legislative aides in Washington, D.C., and Michigan, to top health services researchers in Michigan — fellowship graduates are making a positive difference in the health of people and communities.”

Participating researchers, mostly from U-M, are:

• Anne Kittendorf, assistant professor of family medicine, Medical School.

• Elham Mahmoudi, assistant professor of family medicine, Medical School.

• Dawn Opel, assistant professor of digital media and user experience, College of Arts and Letters, Michigan State University.

• Amy Barton Pai, associate professor of clinical pharmacy, College of Pharmacy.

• Mark Peterson, associate professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation, Medical School.

• Timothy A. Peterson, assistant professor of emergency medicine, Medical School; and executive director of the Physician Organization of Michigan Accountable Care Organization.

Participating policymakers are:

• Kristen Hammock, coordinator of field engagement, Michigan Hospital Association.

• Grant Meade, policy director for state Rep. Joe Bellino, R-Monroe.

• P.J. Petitpren, special project director for state Rep. Rebekah Warren, D-Ann Arbor.

• Jonathan Shiflett, policy adviser, Michigan Senate Majority Policy Office.

• Aarica Smith, legislative director, state Sen. Dayna Polehanki, D-Livonia.

• Jared Welehodsky, senior analyst, Michigan Department of Health and Human Seervices.

The CHRT Policy Fellowship began in 2012 and has more than 80 graduates.

“We are delighted to welcome the 2019 CHRT fellowship class,” said Udow-Phillips. “Each of the seven cohorts has been an inspiration to all of us who have had the pleasure of working with them.”