Advisory panel set for Graham Sustainability Institute director search


The Office of the Provost has appointed an advisory committee in the search for a new director for the University of Michigan’s Graham Sustainability Institute.

James Holloway, vice provost for global engagement and interdisciplinary academic affairs, is chairing the committee charged with conducting a broad national search. The search process is underway.

The Graham Institute serves as a boundary organization that bridges external stakeholders with the internal expertise of U-M’s cross-campus scholarship and problem-solving capacity, with the goal of fostering and co-developing sustainability solutions at a local to global scale.

The director is responsible for programmatic and financial leadership of the institute.

Andrew Horning, the institute’s managing director, currently serves as interim director. He follows Don Scavia, whose eight-year term as director ended in December 2016.

Additional members of the search committee include:

• Gregg Crane, professor of English language and literature, LSA; and director of the Program in the Environment, LSA and the School for Environment and Sustainability.

• Jerry Davis, professor of business administration and associate dean for business and impact, Stephen M. Ross School of Business; and professor of sociology, LSA.

• Karen Houghtaling, business manager, Graham Sustainability Institute.

• Richard Neitzel, professor of environmental health sciences, School of Public Health.

• Douglas Richstone, professor of astronomy and associate dean for natural sciences, LSA.

• Steven Skerlos, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, professor of mechanical engineering, and civil and environmental engineering, College of Engineering.

• Kathy Velikov, associate professor of architecture, Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning.

• John Viera, global director of sustainability, Ford Motor Co., and member of the Graham Sustainability Institute executive advisory board.

• Stella Wixom, executive director, U-M Business Engagement Center.

• Julia Wondolleck, associate professor of environment and sustainability, SEAS.

• Anne Berens, policy adviser to the provost, will assist the committee.

To nominate prospective candidates or ask questions of the committee, send an email to


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.