Advisory committee named in search for Stamps School dean


Provost Susan M. Collins has appointed a 13-member advisory committee in the search for the University of Michigan’s next dean of the Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design.

The committee of faculty, staff, students and an alumnus has been tasked with recommending an unranked slate of candidates to the provost. The next dean will succeed Guna Nadarajan, who will step down June 30, 2022, after 10 years in the position.

In an email to colleagues announcing the search, Collins thanked Nadarajan for his service.

“Dean Nadarajan has continued to enhance interdisciplinary creative practice and research activity at the Stamps School. He has sought strategic solutions to address the school’s needs for studio and gallery space,” she said.

The advisory committee will be chaired by Brad Smith, associate dean for academic programs and professor of art and design in the Stamps School, and research professor in the Department of Radiology in the Medical School.

In addition to Smith, the committee includes:

  • Mikayla Buford, graduate student in integrative design, Stamps School.
  • David Chung, professor of art and design and director of the Master of Fine Arts program, Stamps School; and core faculty in the Nam Center for Korean Studies, LSA.
  • David Gier, dean and Paul Boylan Collegiate Professor of Music and professor of music, School of Music, Theatre & Dance.
  • John Luther, career development coordinator, Stamps School.
  • Jennifer Metsker, lecturer IV, Stamps School.
  • Lia New, undergraduate art and design student, Stamps School.
  • Franc Nunoo-Quarcoo, professor of art and design, Stamps School; and faculty affiliate in the Department of Afroamerican and African Studies, LSA.
  • Tina Olsen, director and curator, U-M Museum of Art.
  • Sun Young Park, assistant professor of art and design, Stamps School; assistant professor of information, School of Information; and assistant professor in the Digital Studies Institute, LSA.
  • Endi Poskovic, professor of art and design, Stamps School; and faculty associate in the Center for European Studies, Weiser Center for Emerging Democracies, Copernicus Center for Polish Studies, Center for Russian, East European & Eurasian Studies, and Center for Japanese Studies, LSA.
  • Nan Pozios, director of development and alumni relations, Stamps School.
  • Ryan Ringholz, founder and chief designer, PLAE; and alumni member and Dean’s Advisory Council member, Stamps School.

The committee’s first meeting was Sept. 10. To nominate prospective candidates or ask questions of the committee, email For more information about the school, visit


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.