Advisory committee named for Law School dean search


Provost Laurie K. McCauley has named a 17-member advisory committee to assist the search for the University of Michigan’s next dean of the Law School.

The committee of faculty, staff, students and alumni has been tasked with conducting a broad search and recommending an unranked slate of candidates to the provost.

The next dean will succeed Mark West, whose term ended Dec. 31, 2023. Kyle Logue has been serving as interim dean since Jan. 1.

In an email to colleagues announcing the search, McCauley asked them to share “fresh insights to ensure our next decision aligns as closely as possible with the collective vision and goals of the Law School community.”

The advisory committee will be chaired by Kristina Daugirdas, Francis A. Allen Collegiate Professor of Law, professor of law and associate dean for academic programming in the Law School.

In addition to Daugirdas, the committee includes:

  • Michelle Adams, Henry M. Butzel Professor of Law, and professor of law, Law School.
  • Beth Angell, dean of the School of Social Work, Phillip Fellin Collegiate Professor of Social Work and professor of social work, School of Social Work.
  • Sherman J. Clark, Kirkland & Ellis Professor of Law, and professor of law, Law School.
  • Dan Crane, Richard W. Pogue Professor of Law, and Frederick Paul Furth, Sr. Professor of Law and professor of law, Law School.
  • Margaret Hannon, clinical professor of law, Law School.
  • Alex Izbiky, juris doctor candidate, Law School.
  • Ramji Kaul, assistant dean for career planning, Law School.
  • Debra Kowich, senior associate general counsel and chief counsel for athletics, Office of the Vice President and General Counsel.
  • Leah Litman, professor of law, Law School.
  • Michele Coleman Mayes, alumna, former vice president, general counsel and secretary for the New York Public Library.
  • Gabriel Mendlow, professor of law, Law School; and professor of philosophy, LSA.
  • Adrian Ohmer, lecturer II in law, Law School; investment director at The Kresge Foundation.
  • Kamryn Sannicks, juris doctor candidate, Law School.
  • Michael J. Solomon, dean of the Rackham School of Graduate Studies; vice provost for academic affairs-graduate studies, Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs; professor of chemical engineering and of macromolecular science and engineering, College of Engineering.
  • Dana Thompson, clinical professor of law, Law School.
  • Chris Walker, professor of law, Law School.

In an email announcing the search advisory committee, McCauley said she is looking forward to “the selection of the new dean who will further enrich the history of Michigan Law.”

The committee will work with the Isaacson, Miller executive search firm.

To nominate prospective candidates or ask questions of the committee chair, email


Leave a comment

Please read our comment guidelines.