Accolades — March 2022


Bhargav Bhatt, Frederick W. and Lois B. Gehring Professor of Mathematics and professor of mathematics, LSA, has won the 2021 Clay Research Award. The award recognizes Bhatt’s groundbreaking achievements in commutative algebra, arithmetic algebraic geometry and topology in the p-adic setting, according to the website of the Clay Mathematics Institute.  His contributions include the development, in joint work with M. Morrow and P. Scholze, of a unified p-adic cohomology theory (prismatic cohomology) and, in joint work with J. Lurie, a p-adic Riemann-Hilbert functor. Striking applications of this work include Bhatt’s resolution of longstanding problems in commutative algebra, in particular concerning the Cohen-Macaulay property and Kodaira vanishing up to finite covers.

Kelly Sexton, associate vice president for research and innovation partnerships, has been named the 2022 winner of the Bayh-Dole Award. The Association of University Technology Managers established the award to annually recognize an individual’s untiring efforts to foster and promote intellectual property activities on behalf of the university and nonprofit community. Sexton oversees Innovation Partnerships, a unit of the Office of the Vice President for Research that serves as the primary gateway for researchers seeking to increase the impact of their work through commercialization.

Xuming He, the H.C. Carver Collegiate Professor of Statistics and professor of statistics, is the 2022 recipient of the IMS Carver Award from the Institute of Mathematical Statistics. He was selected for the Carver Medal, an award for service to the IMS, for “his decades-long contributions to the IMS in multiple capacities, including editor of the IMS Bulletin, IMS council member, committee chairs, and conference program co-chairs; and for his strong and conscientious leadership in a wide range of other professional services.” The Carver Medal was created by the IMS in 2002 in honor of Harry C. Carver, founding editor of the Annals of Mathematical Statistics and one of the founders of the IMS.

Aliyah Khan, associate professor of English language and literature, and of Afro-American and African studies, LSA, was awarded the Modern Language Association Prize honorable mention for a First Book for “Far from Mecca: Globalizing the Muslim Caribbean,” published by Rutgers University Press. Annette K. Joseph-Gabriel, now an associate professor at Duke University, received the MLA Prize for a First Book for “Reimagining Liberation: How Black Women Transformed Citizenship in the French Empire,” published by the University of Illinois Press. Joseph-Gabriel won the award while she was an associate professor of French, LSA.

Shanna Kattari, assistant professor of social work, School of Social Work, and of women’s and gender studies, LSA; and Leonardo Kattari, project intermediate manager and adjunct lecturer in social work, School of Social Work, have won the 2022 Society for Social Work Research Book Award honorable mention for the book they co-edited, “Social Work and Health Care Practice with Transgender and Nonbinary Individuals and Communities: Voices for Equity, Inclusion, and Resilience.”


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.