Academic Women’s Caucus presents Goddard Power, Dumas awards


Dr. Carol Rossier Bradford, Lilia M. Cortina and Dr. Dee E. Fenner have received Sarah Goddard Power Awards for 2014.

The ceremony for the 31st annual awards, presented to individuals who demonstrate scholarship, leadership and support of women faculty, was Wednesday in the Michigan League Hussey Room.

The Academic Women’s Caucus, which presents the Power awards, also presented the Sarah Goddard Power Honorary Award to Ann Evans Larimore, and the Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Award to the Department of Communication Studies, LSA.

Carol Rossier Bradford

Descriptions of the recipients’ work are from their award citations.

Bradford, professor and chair of the Department of Otolaryngology and co-director of the Head and Neck Oncology Program, has commanded respect in several leadership roles. Her research on the p53 protein led to new treatments and understanding of cancer.  She earned a Percy Award from the American Academy of Otolaryngology and a Research Career Development Award from the American Society for Clinical Research. She works to foster the careers of other women as a mentor, friend and role model.

Lilia Cortina

Cortina is associate professor of psychology and women’s studies, and director of graduate studies for Women’s Studies, LSA. Through her Psychology of Women course, hundreds of students have been inspired by research on the betterment of women. Her research on sexual harassment, gender disparagement, unwanted sexual overtures and sexual coercion has redefined how we think about aggression against women in the workplace. Cortina’s enthusiasm in the classroom, and in research and mentoring, has inspired a generation of female scientists.

Dee Fenner

Fenner, professor of obstetrics and gynecology, and urology, and the Harold A. Furlong Professor of Women’s Health, Medical School, is chief of the Division of Gynecology. She is a mentor and a role model to junior faculty as director of the Michigan Bowel Control Program. She works with women at risk or suffering from incontinence as part of the Pelvic Floor Research Group. She helped create the subspecialty of Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery, the Michigan Healthy Healing After Delivery Program, and the Ansbacher Scholars Program. She supports student athletes through several initiatives.

Ann Evans Larimore

Larimore, professor emerita of geography and women’s studies, founded and chaired the Committee on the Status of Women Geographers. Her teaching interests included anti-racist, multicultural feminist teaching strategies and philosophy. She helped found the Women’s Studies program, was the first woman elected to a regular full term of the Rackham School of Graduate Studies executive board in 1971, served on countless committees dedicated to diversity and inclusion, and performed stellar work with the Academic Women’s Caucus.

Susan Douglas, chair of the Department of Communication Studies, accepted the Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Award on behalf of the department.

The department has long worked toward achieving diversity. A Race, Ethnicity and the Media initiative directed the hiring of faculty specialized in research in those areas, complementing faculty already studying and teaching courses about class, gender, inclusion and equity. In 2012, a new undergraduate curriculum was developed that reinforces the value of diversity at every course level. A commitment to graduate student recruiting has achieved a more diverse student body.

The Academic Women’s Caucus was founded in 1975 by women working to overcome inequity issues in the workplace.

The AWC presents the Sarah Goddard Power Award to distinguished faculty and senior administrative staff. The award was established in memory of Sarah Goddard Power, a former regent and strong advocate for women within the university.

The Rhetaugh Dumas Progress in Diversifying Award is named for Dumas, a former dean and professor at the School of Nursing.



  1. Miriam Meisler
    on February 12, 2015 at 1:52 pm

    Thank you for reporting on this inspiring event.

Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.