Regents Roundup


The following items were approved by the Board of Regents at its Feb. 16 meeting.

Meeting schedule set for 2013, 2014

The Board of Regents approved meeting schedules for 2013 and 2014 during its Feb. 16 meeting.

The regents will meet 11 times per year, with no meeting in August. All meetings are on the third Thursday of the month, except for October 2013, which is on the third Friday. All meetings are in Ann Arbor, except where noted.

The meetings for 2013 are Jan. 17, Feb. 21, March 21, April 18, May 16 (Dearborn campus), June 20, July 18, Sept. 19, Oct. 18 (Flint campus), Nov. 21 and Dec. 19.

The meetings for 2014 are Jan. 16, Feb. 20, March 20, April 17, May 15 (Dearborn campus), June 19, July 17, Sept. 18, Oct. 16 (Flint campus), Nov. 20 and Dec. 18.

Final approval for renovations at East Quad

The regents authorized issuing bids and awarding construction contracts for a $116 million project to renovate the East Quadrangle residence hall. The project will update the building’s infrastructure, improve the dining facilities, and renovate the Residential College spaces to current academic standards. The work, scheduled to be completed next summer, is being funded by Housing, LSA and university investment proceeds.

Law School dormitory renovations move forward

The regents gave final approval for the planned renovations to The Lawyers’ Club Building and the John P. Cook Building. The $39 million project will improve infrastructure, increase safety and accessibility, and add air conditioning to the dormitory areas in the two buildings, as well as update key infrastructure in the club wing of The Lawyers’ Club Building. The project is being funded by a gift, investment proceeds, and resources from the Lawyers Club of the University of Michigan, and is scheduled to be completed next summer.

Emergency power improvements planned at Cardiovascular Center

An uninterruptible power supply will be installed at the Cardiovascular Center to allow clinical imaging operations in 15 laboratories on levels 2A and 4 to continue normally in the 10-second time period before the building’s generators come online. The $2.1 million project will be funded by Hospitals and Health Centers’ resources, and is scheduled to be completed in the winter of 2013.

New boilers for UM-Flint power plant

The four existing boilers at the Central Energy Plant that provide steam for the Flint campus will be replaced with two boilers that match the demand and operate more efficiently. The project, funded from UM-Flint resources, is estimated to cost $2.5 million, and will be completed next fall.


Faculty appointments with tenure

Howard Rush, transfer of tenure to associate professor of laboratory animal medicine, Office of the Dean, Medical School, effective Jan. 2.

John Wilkinson, transfer of tenure to associate professor of comparative pathology, Office of the Dean, Medical School, effective Jan. 2.

Eduardo Villamor, transfer of tenure to associate professor of epidemiology, School of Public Health, effective Feb. 1.

Named professorships

Joseph Bull, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, effective July 1.

Michael Haithcock, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, effective July 1.

Sadashi Inuzuka, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, effective July 1.

Jiandie Lin, Bradley M. Patten Collegiate Professor in the Life Sciences, Medical School, effective Feb. 1, 2012-Aug. 31, 2016.

Tiya Miles, Elsa Barkley Brown Collegiate Professor of African American Women’s History, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2012-Dec. 31, 2016.

Bradford Orr, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, effective July 1.

Steven Skerlos, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, effective July 1.

Valerie Suslow, Louis and Myrtle Moskowitz Research Professor of Business and Law, Stephen M. Ross School of Business, effective March 1, 2012-Feb. 28, 2017.

Brian Porter-Szucs, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, effective July 1.

Nathaniel Szymczak, Dow Corning Assistant Professor of Chemistry, LSA, effective Feb. 1, 2012-Dec. 31, 2014.

Administrative appointments

Tabbye Chavous, associate dean for academic programs and initiatives, Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies, effective June 1, 2012-June 30, 2016.

Peter F. Hitchcock, associate dean for academic programs and initiatives, Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies, effective July 1, 2012-June 30, 2016.

Charlotte Mistretta, associate dean for research, School of Dentistry, effective March 1, 2012-Nov. 30, 2013.


David Featherman, professor of sociology and professor of psychology, LSA, and research professor in the Population Studies Center, Institute for Social Research, effective Dec. 31, 2011. He joined the faculty in 1995 as ISR director, served until 2005, and was director of the Center for Advancing Research and Solutions for Society from 2004-11. Featherman’s research focus includes aging and the life course, social stratification, social psychology and social mobility. He has authored or co-authored eight books and more than 80 articles and book chapters, and has been elected as a fellow several professional associations. His awards include the National Center for Institutional Diversity Distinguished Scholarship and Engagement Award.

Stella Pang, professor of electrical engineering and computer science in the College of Engineering (CoE), effective Dec. 31, 2011. She joined the faculty in 1990, and served as associate dean for graduate education from 2002-07. Pang is considered a pioneer in the identification and removal of process induced damage in silicon and compound semiconductor devices and is a leader in advancing the science of nanofabrication technology. She has published more than 190 refereed technical papers, authored or edited 16 books or book chapters, and received nine patents. She played a key role in creating opportunities for student and faculty exchanges through the establishment of the U-M-Shanghai Jiao Tong University Joint Institute. Among her awards, she received a Global Research Partnership Award from the National Science Foundation.

Dr. Waldomar Roeser, clinical assistant professor of orthopaedic surgery in the Medical School, effective Feb. 29. He joined the faculty in 1999. Roeser was recognized with the Regents Alumni Scholar Award, the Moses Gomberg Scholar in Chemistry Award and the Rollo E. McCotter Anatomy Award. He widely is regarded for his expertise in knee and shoulder arthroscopic surgery. He has been the team physician for Eastern Michigan University since 1971. He was appointed a fellow of the American College of Sports Medicine and appointed to the board of directors of The Institute for Preventative Sports Medicine. His residents twice awarded him the Golden Scalpel resident clinical teaching award.

Lynda Welage, associate dean and professor of pharmacy, College of Pharmacy, and clinical pharmacist, Pharmacy Services, University Hospitals, effective December 31, 2011. Welage joined the faculty in 1988, and is known nationally as an expert in critical care and authority on drug absorption. She has served as associate director of the Michigan Institute for Clinical Health Research since 2009. Her contributions to an interactive, case-based computer program that helps students master clinical practice skills were recognized with a Computerworld Award from the Smithsonian National Museum of American History. She and her colleagues also received the Hope Clinic Community Partnership Award in 2010, and she received the college’s Excellence in Teaching Award in 2000.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.