Accolades — June 2022

Photo of Susan Douglas
Susan Douglas

Susan Douglas, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Catherine Neafie Kellogg Professor of Communication and professor of communication and media in LSA, has been awarded the Teresa Award for the Advancement of Feminist Scholarship given by the Feminist Studies Division of the International Communication Association. The selection committee commended her decades-long feminist scholarship in media and gender, and noted her scholarship is significant because it inspired generations of feminists and media researchers, educators, and students as well as lay audiences to think critically about media content. It said Douglas’ work challenges mainstream stereotypes about women and discusses the contradictory portrayals of feminisms in media.

Photo of Raven Garvey
Raven Garvey

Raven Garvey, associate professor of anthropology and associate curator in the Museum of Anthropological Archaeology, has been awarded a 2022-23 Andrew W. Mellon Foundation New Directions Fellowship. This fellowship supports faculty engaged in interdisciplinary research who seek formal training outside their own areas of expertise. Garvey will train in aerospace engineering and structural design theory to better understand the effects of wind on prehistoric peoples in Patagonia (farthest southern South America), one of the windiest places on Earth.

Photo of Ambuj Tewari
Ambuj Tewari

Ambuj Tewari, professor of statistics in LSA, and professor of electrical engineering and computer science in the College of Engineering, has been named fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics. Tewari received the award for contributions to research at the interface of statistics and machine learning including online learning, bandit problems and reinforcement learning, and for leadership in the emerging areas of mobile health and precision medicine. Each fellow is assessed by a committee of their peers and has demonstrated distinction in research or leadership that has profoundly influenced the field. Created in 1935, the IMS is a member organization that fosters the development and dissemination of the theory and applications of statistics and probability.

Michigan Radio has received three regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in the Large Market Radio category. The station won awards in the Digital, News Documentary and Overall Excellence categories. The Murrow Awards are presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association to honor outstanding achievements in electronic journalism. The News Documentary award went to the station’s Stateside team including April Baer, Laura Weber Davis, Mercedes Mejia, April Van Buren, Erin Allen, Mike Blank, Elizabeth Harlow and Clair Murashima. Michigan Radio’s website won in the Digital Category. The digital team is led by Jodi Westrick, along with Emma Winowiecki, Paulette Parker and Brad Gowland. Brett Dahlberg won two regional Murrow Awards for work while at WCMU, just prior to coming to Michigan Radio.

A data visualization collaboration between U-M’s Center for Interprofessional Education and Information and Technology Services has received a 2022 bronze award from 1EdTech, a non-profit collaborative advancing education technology and learning impact. The winning project was “Competency-Based Tracking for Interprofessional Education Leveraging Institutional Data.” Key members of the project team include: Gundy Sweet (College of Pharmacy), Vani Patterson (IPE Center), Melissa Gross (School of Kinesiology), Mark Fitzgerald (School of Dentistry), Dan Fischer (School of Social Work), Kate Weber (formerly School of Dentistry), Pushyami Gundala (ITS), and Jennifer Love (ITS).

— Submit requests for faculty or staff Accolades to Please attach a digital photo if you wish for one to be included.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.