23 research scientists promoted

William C. Kelly, vice president for research, has announced that 23 research scientists from eight units have received promotions effective Sept. 1 .

“The high quality of our primary research faculty strengthens the research enterprise in numerous units across the University,” notes Sarah Winans Newman, associate vice president for research.

“We look forward to congratulating the newly promoted members of this faculty group at a celebratory luncheon during the fall term.”

Promoted to research scientist:

A. Regula Herzog, Institute for Social Research (ISR) and Institute of Gerontology; Robert B. Kozma, Center for Research on Learning and Teaching (also associate professor of education); Michael R. Kilbourn, Department of Internal Medicine (also associate professor of internal medicine); Kenneth F. Koral, Department of Internal Medicine; Thomas E. Carey, Department of Otorhinolaryngology; Khalil N. Bitar, Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases; John P. Langmore, Biophysics Research Division, Institute of Science and Technology (also division chair and associate professor of biology); Neal M. Krause, Institute of Gerontology (also associate professor of health behavior and health education).

Promoted to associate research scientist :

Thomas E. Fricke, Survey Research Center, ISR, (also assistant professor of anthropology); Robert A. Koeppe, Department of Internal Medicine (also assistant professor of internal medicine); Jerome J. Kukor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology; Thomas J. Morrow, Department of Neurology (also assistant professor of physiology); Robert M. Anderson, Department of Postgraduate Medicine; Daniel J. Goldman, Mental Health Research Institute (also assistant professor of biological chemistry); Janet U. Kozyra and Wilbert R. Skinner, College of Engineering.

Promoted to associate research editor:

Elizabeth S. Girsch and Mona L. Logarbo, Middle English Dictionary.

Promoted to assistant research scientist:

Beverly L. Davidson, Department of Internal Medicine; David F. Dolan, Department of Otorhinolaryngology; Mark D. Womble, Department of Physiology; Frederic C. Blow, Department of Psychiatry; and Shin-Yun Lee, Center for Human Growth and Development.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.