Senate Assembly

  1. April 9, 2024

    SACUA elects Rebekah Modrak chair, Heather O’Malley vice chair

    The Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs has elected Rebekah Modrak of the Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design as chair and Heather O’Malley of the Medical School as vice chair for the upcoming school year.

  2. March 21, 2024

    Three faculty members elected to serve on SACUA

    Derek R. Peterson and Melanie S. Tanielian of LSA, and Soumya Rangarajan of Michigan Medicine have been elected to three-year terms on the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs.

  3. March 11, 2024

    Ten faculty members seeking three seats on SACUA

    Ten people are running for three seats on the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs, the nine-member executive arm of U-M’s central faculty governance system.

  4. February 21, 2024

    Senate Assembly passes resolution on academic freedom, harassment

    The Senate Assembly has approved a resolution supporting academic freedom and asking U-M to expand support for faculty experiencing harassment.

  5. January 30, 2024

    Senate Assembly passes measures on CSG votes, Israel divestment

    The faculty’s Senate Assembly has passed resolutions calling on U-M leadership to protect students’ free speech, and to divest from companies investing in Israel’s military campaign in Gaza.

  6. October 6, 2023

    Anouck Girard elected temporary SACUA member

    Anouck Girard, professor of robotics and of aerospace engineering, will serve as a temporary member of the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs through Jan. 24, 2024.

  7. September 12, 2023

    SACUA seeking nominations for temporary member

    The Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs is seeking nominations for a temporary member to serve from Oct. 9 through Jan. 22, 2024. Nominees must be a current Senate Assembly member.

  8. August 28, 2023

    Q&A: SACUA Chair Tom Braun considers the coming year

    Tom Braun, a professor of biostatistics in the School of Public Health, recently began his 2023-24 term as chair of the nine-member Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs.

  9. July 5, 2023

    Regents to consider bylaws change expanding Faculty Senate

    Public comments are being sought regarding proposed revisions to the Board of Regents’ Bylaws that would expand the membership of the Faculty Senate and Senate Assembly.

  10. May 31, 2023

    Faculty Senate voting this week on expansion proposal

    The Faculty Senate will vote through 8 a.m. June 3 on a resolution to expand the university’s central faculty governance system to include clinical professors, archivists, curators and lecturers.