September 27, 2020

Raoul Wallenberg

  1. November 20, 2019

    Wallenberg medalist says her subjects are the courageous ones

    Filmmaker and journalist Safa Al Ahmad, the recipient of the university’s 2019 Wallenberg Medal, says the subjects who entrust their stories to her are the ones showing true acts of courage.

  2. June 27, 2019

    Wallenberg Medal goes to journalist, documentarian Safa Al Ahmad

    Safa Al Ahmad, a Saudi Arabian journalist and documentary filmmaker, will receive U-M’s 2019 Wallenberg Medal. She will deliver the Wallenberg Lecture on Nov. 19 at Rackham Auditorium.

  3. April 26, 2019

    Wallenberg Fellow to work with sexual assault survivors in Ethiopia

    Carly Marten is the 2019 recipient of U-M’s Wallenberg Fellowship, given each spring to a graduating senior with exceptional accomplishment for service to the public good.

  4. November 15, 2018

    Youths speak out against gun violence at Wallenberg ceremony

    Two youth groups working to curb gun violence — B.R.A.V.E. and March For Our Lives — shared their stories of activism after receiving U-M’s 2018 Raoul Wallenberg Medal.

  5. September 14, 2018

    Youth groups advocating against gun violence to receive Wallenberg Medal

    Two youth advocacy groups that are focused on ending gun violence in their communities — B.R.A.V.E. Youth Leaders and March For Our Lives — will be awarded U-M’s 2018 Wallenberg Medal.

  6. March 22, 2018

    Wallenberg Fellow to study whether mobile phones ease poverty

    U-M’s 2018 Wallenberg Fellowship recipient Meagan Malm plans to study the role mobile phones play in reducing poverty in Tanzania.

  7. November 2, 2016

    Lawyer, activist Bryan Stevenson to receive Wallenberg Medal

    U-M’s 2016-17 Wallenberg Medal will be awarded March 7 to civil rights lawyer and social justice activist Bryan Stevenson, who will also give the 25th Wallenberg Lecture.

  8. July 14, 2015

    Author and activist Masha Gessen to receive Wallenberg Medal

    Russian and American journalist, author and activist Masha Gessen will receive the 2015 Wallenberg Medal and deliver the 24th Wallenberg Lecture on Nov. 3.

  9. September 22, 2014

    Philosopher Agnes Heller to receive 23rd Wallenberg Medal

    Distinguished Hungarian philosopher and Holocaust survivor Agnes Heller will receive the 23rd Wallenberg Medal on Sept. 30.

  10. July 14, 2014

    Alumnus Raoul Wallenberg honored with Congressional Gold Medal

    In a rare posthumous ceremony, U-M alumnus Raoul Wallenberg was presented with the Congressional Gold Medal on June 9 in honor of his heroism during the Holocaust.