August 07, 2020


  1. May 4, 2020

    LSA student researcher works to build healthy environment, community

    Yoav Jacob believes in leaving things better than he found them — specifically the environment and the University of Michigan.

  2. April 23, 2020

    Three from U-M elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

    Three U-M faculty members have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, which recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions in scholarly and professional fields.

  3. April 12, 2020

    Institute for Humanities names faculty, graduate student fellows

    Eight U-M lecturers and tenure-track faculty members will be summer fellows at the Institute for the Humanities. Eight faculty members and eight graduate students will be fellows during the 2020-21 academic year.

  4. March 30, 2020

    García-Amaya receives 30th Golden Apple Award in virtual surprise

    This year’s Golden Apple Award recipient, Lorenzo García-Amaya, was surprised with the award during a virtual meeting of the Speech Production Lab, a twist necessitated by social distancing.

  5. March 23, 2020

    Lecturer uses horror course to engage students

    Gina Brandolino, a lecturer IV in the Sweetland Center for Writing and the Department of English, LSA, engages students through horror courses she has taught for the past 10 years.

  6. March 16, 2020

    Transfer recruiting coordinator opens home to foster dog

    Kristin Heinrich, a transfer recruiting coordinator for LSA, recently welcomed a foster dog into her home and life. It provided a way for her to help without the long-term commitment of adopting another dog.

  7. February 20, 2020

    Regents approve five 2020 Arthur F. Thurnau Professors

    Miranda D. Brown, Angela Violi, Gyorgyi Csankovszki, John Montgomery and Susan Scott Parrish have been named Arthur F. Thurnau Professors in recognition of their outstanding contributions.

  8. February 12, 2020

    Two faculty members awarded Sloan fellowships

    U-M researchers Jenna Wiens and Alex Wright have been awarded 2020 Sloan Research Fellowships, which honor scholars whose achievements place them among the most promising early career researchers.

  9. February 3, 2020

    Obituary: Samuel David Epstein

    Samuel David Epstein, the Marilyn J. Shatz Collegiate Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science, died at home Nov. 29.

  10. January 29, 2020

    LSA launches Quantitative Methods in the Social Sciences program

    A new LSA program called Quantitative Methods in the Social Sciences will offer students ways to learn and expand their knowledge of quantitative methods for use with big data as part of their social sciences training.