University of Michigan
News for faculty, staff and retirees

April 18, 2019

Regents Roundup — October 2016

October 20, 2016

Regents Roundup — October 2016

Topic: Regents

Windows to be replaced at Bursley

A $4.9 million project will replace the student room windows original to the construction of Joseph Aldrich and Marguerite Knowlton Bursley Hall with high-performance and energy-efficient units. Housing resources will fund the project that is scheduled to be completed in the fall of 2017.

New faculty offices planned at University Hospital South

A renovation of approximately 65,000 gross square feet within University Hospital South will create new offices and address infrastructure to reduce inefficiencies and improve opportunities for collaboration for clinical faculty. The University of Michigan Hospitals and Health Centers will fund the $8.2 million renovation that is scheduled to be completed next summer.

Central cardiac monitoring planned for Taubman Health Care Center

Approximately 1,500 gross square feet of space on Level B1 of the A. Alfred Taubman Health Care Center will be renovated to create a cardiac monitoring center using advanced wireless technology to cover 192 patients with capacity to expand remote monitoring coverage in the future. The UMHHC will fund the $5 million project with completion scheduled for next summer.

Radiology equipment to be replaced at University Hospital

An existing interventional radiology unit originally installed in 2003 will be replaced and the affected rooms on Level B1 of University Hospital updated to accommodate the replacement. The $3.5 million project will be funded by UMHHC and is scheduled to be completed next spring.

Ann Arbor campus

Faculty appointments and promotions with tenure

Gary B. Huffnagle, professor of molecular, cellular, and developmental biology, LSA, effective Sept. 1, 2016.

Dr. Prashant V. Mahajan, professor of emergency medicine, Medical School, effective Oct. 1, 2016.

Christian Sandvig, promotion and transfer of tenure to professor of information, School of Information, effective Sept. 1, 2016.

Dr. Srijan Sen, professor of depression and neurosciences, Medical School, effective Oct. 1, 2016 through Aug. 31, 2021.

Xiaodong Sun, professor of nuclear engineering and radiological sciences, College of Engineering, effective Jan. 1, 2017.

Yafeng Yin, professor of civil and environmental engineering, CoE, effective Jan. 1, 2017.

Named professorships

Dr. Michelle S. Caird, Larry S. Matthews, M.D. Collegiate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, Medical School, effective Oct. 1, 2016 through Aug. 31, 2021.

Daniel R. Goldstein, correction of collegiate professorship title to Eliza Maria Mosher Collegiate Professor of Internal Medicine, Medical School, effective Oct. 1, 2016.

Nancy G. Love, Borchardt and Glysson Collegiate Professor, CoE, effective Oct. 1, 2016 through Sept. 30, 2021.

Alison R. H. Narayan, correction to effective end date of an endowed professorship appointment as William R. Roush Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, LSA, effective Sept. 1, 2016 through May 31, 2019.

*Mark A. Tessler, Samuel J. Eldersveld Collegiate Professor of Political Science, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2017.

Dr. Marcia A. Valenstein, Susan Crumpacker Brown Research Professor of Depression, Medical School, effective Oct. 1, 2016 through Aug. 31, 2021.

R. Brent Wagner, Robertson Emeritus Professor in Musical Theatre, School of Music, Theatre & Dance, effective Sept. 1, 2016 through Aug. 31, 2021.

Administrative appointments

Peter M. Chen, interim chair, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Division of Computer Science and Engineering, CoE, effective Jan. 1, 2017 through Dec. 31, 2017.

James G. DeVaney, change in title to associate vice provost for academic innovation, Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, effective Sept. 1, 2016.

John B. Godfrey, change in title to assistant dean, Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies, effective Oct. 1, 2016 through July 31, 2019.

Kedra Ishop, change in title to vice provost for enrollment management, Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, effective Sept. 1, 2016.

Mark Kamimura-Jimenez, assistant dean, Rackham Graduate School, effective Oct. 1, 2016 through Sept. 30, 2019.

Frances Mueller, change in title to associate vice provost for academic and budgetary affairs, Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, effective Sept. 1, 2016.

Nicholas S. Wigginton, assistant vice president for research-research initiatives, Office of Research, effective Nov. 1, 2016.



David R. Lyzenga, research scientist, Department of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering, College of Engineering, Aug. 31. Lyzenga received both his Bachelor of Science degree from Calvin College and his Bachelor of Science in Engineering degree from U-M in 1967. He received his Master of Science degree from Yale University in 1968 and his Ph.D. from U-M in 1973. Lyzenga held a number of positions at U-M, including research assistant, adjunct associate professor and visiting associate research scientist. He was appointed research scientist in 1996. An internationally recognized expert in ocean remote sensing, Lyzenga published some 100 scientific papers and received 3,000 citations for his work. He developed a widely used method of remotely measuring shallow water bathymetry and was an early pioneer in the oceanographic use of synthetic aperture radar. Most recently, he developed a method of measuring ocean wave fields and wave spectra using shipboard marine radars, which has resulted in two patent applications. Lyzenga co-chaired two Ph.D. committees and was a member of five Ph.D. committees at U-M, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the University of Delaware. He was a collaborator on a U.S. Department of Education Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education project to develop an international curriculum on remote sensing and has sponsored two international exchange students at U-M. He also was actively involved in the Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program for many years.

Jeffrey E. Mirel, professor of education in the School of Education and professor of history in LSA, Oct. 31. Mirel received his Bachelor of Arts in 1970 and Master of Arts in 1971 from The Ohio State University. He received a Master of Arts in 1982 and Ph.D. in 1984 from U-M. He joined the U-M faculty as a professor in 2001. Mirel served as associate dean in SOE from 2002-05 and was named the David L. Angus Collegiate Professor of Education from 2006-16. He also held positions in the Center for Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies and the Weiser Center for Emerging Democracies. Mirel is one of the leading historians of education in the United States. His work explored the history and politics of urban education and the history of school reform, particularly high school curriculum reform. He authored and co-authored a number of notable books, including "The Rise and Fall of an Urban School System: Detroit, 1907-81" (1993), "The Failed Promise of the American High School, 1890-1995" (1999), and "Patriotic Pluralism: Americanization Education and European Immigrants" (2010). He published a number of important peer-reviewed journal articles in the History of Education Quarterly, the Journal of Social History and Social Science History. Mirel taught undergraduate and graduate courses on the history of American education, social foundations of education, education in a multicultural society and the politics of educational administration.  He was elected to the National Academy of Education in 2013.