University of Michigan
News for faculty, staff and retirees

June 26, 2019


February 5, 2018


Topic: Campus News

Susan Borrego

Paul Hollenberg

Howard Markel

Timothy McAllister


University of Michigan-Flint Chancellor Susan Borrego, also a professor of education at the UM-Flint School of Education and Human Services, was named to the National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators' Higher Education Committee of 50 or "Forward50." This group consists of campus leaders from around the United States and are tasked with developing policy solutions that will address issues preventing students from enrolling in, paying for and graduating from college.

Paul F. Hollenberg, professor emeritus of pharmacology, Medical School, is the recipient of the 2018 Otto Krayer Award in Pharmacology given by the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics. Hollenberg was recognized for his research accomplishments on the role of mechanism-based inactivation of cytochrome P450 function, commitment to teaching and editorial service for the society, guidance of younger scientists and editorships, including the co-founding of Chemical Research in Toxicology.

Howard Markel, George E. Wantz M.D. Distinguished Professor of the History of Medicine, is a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for biographies for his book, "The Kelloggs: The Battling Brothers of Battle Creek." Markel is also professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases, and psychiatry, and director of the Center for the History of Medicine, Medical School; professor of history, and English language and literature, LSA; and professor of health management and policy, School of Public Health.

Timothy McAllister, associate professor of music, School of Music, Theatre & Dance, won a Grammy Award in the "Choral Performance" category for his work with the PRISM Quartet on Gavin Bryars' "The Fifth Century."