University of Michigan
News for faculty, staff and retirees

June 17, 2019


December 15, 2014


Topic: Campus News

Chelsea Wood

Chelsea Wood, disease ecologist and assistant professor and Michigan fellow, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, LSA, has been awarded a 2014 Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists. Her winning essay will be published online in the journal Science. Titled “Environmental change and the ecology of infectious disease,” describes her dissertation work, which investigated how biodiversity loss can change the composition of parasite assemblages and patterns of disease transmission. Wood studies the ecology of parasites and pathogens in marine and freshwater ecosystems.

Betsy Foxman

Betsy Foxman, director of the Center for Molecular and Clinical Epidemiology of Infectious Diseases, Hunein F. and Hilda Maassab Endowed Professor of Epidemiology, and professor of epidemiology, School of Public Health, has been awarded the Abraham Lilienfeld Award from the Epidemilogy Section of the American Public Health Association. It recognizes a career of excellence in teaching in the field of epidemiology.

Elim Chan, Chamber Choir and Choral Union alto and Doctor of Musical Arts student in orchestral conducting at the School of Music, Theatre & Dance, has been named winner of the 2014 Donatella Flick London Symphony Orchestra Conducting Competition. His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales, Patron of the Competition, presented her with the winner’s award following a public concert conducted by the three finalists Dec. 8. Chan receives the prize of 15,000 pounds to support a period of specialist study and concert engagements. Her prize also includes the opportunity to work as assistant conductor with the London Symphony Orchestra for one year.

Daniel Hayes

Dr. Daniel F. Hayes, clinical director of the breast oncology program at the Comprehensive Cancer Center, has been elected president of the American Society of Clinical Oncology. The three-year appointment begins with Hayes becoming president-elect on June 1, 2015. He will serve as president from June 1, 2016, to May 31, 2017, and will be immediate past-president for a year after that.

Tags: Accolades