University of Michigan
News for Faculty and Staff

May 22, 2018

Senate Assembly elects three faculty members to SACUA

March 21, 2017

Senate Assembly elects three faculty members to SACUA

Topic: Campus News

The Senate Assembly on Monday elected three faculty members to fill seats on the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs, the executive arm of the University of Michigan’s faculty governance system.

Elected to three-year terms that begin May 1 were:

Joy Beatty

Sami Malek

Neil Marsh

• Joy Beatty, associate professor of management studies, College of Business, UM-Dearborn.

• Sami Malek, associate professor of internal medicine, Medical School.

• Neil Marsh, professor of chemistry, LSA; and professor of biological chemistry, Medical School.

Beatty, Malek and Marsh will succeed three members whose terms expire April 30: John Lehman, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology, LSA; David Smith, John G. Wagner Collegiate Professor of Pharmacy and professor of pharmaceutical sciences, College of Pharmacy; and Silke-Maria Weineck, professor of Germanic languages and literatures, and comparative literature, LSA.

The Senate Assembly chose the three new SACUA members from among six candidates. The other candidates were Kathryn A. Eaton, professor of microbiology and immunology, Medical School; Andreas Gailus, associate professor and associate chair of Germanic languages and literatures, LSA; and John S. Ellis, professor of history, College of Arts and Sciences, UM-Flint.

The new SACUA members will join incumbents Stefan Szymanski, professor of kinesiology, School of Kinesiology; Robert Ortega, associate professor of social work, School of Social Work; Ruth Carlos, professor of radiology, Medical School; Michael Atzmon, professor of nuclear engineering and radiological sciences and of materials science and engineering, College of Engineering; David Wright, associate professor of accounting, Stephen M. Ross School of Business; and William Schultz, professor of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics, and naval architecture, College of Engineering.

Besides SACUA, central faculty governance consists of the Senate Assembly and the Faculty Senate. The full Senate consists of all professorial faculty, librarians, full-time research faculty, executive officers and deans. The Senate Assembly consists of 74 elected faculty members from the Ann Arbor, Dearborn and Flint campuses.


Jens Zorn
on 3/21/17 at 11:16 am

It is remarkable that LSA has been under-represented on SACUA for several decades, this arising from their failure to nominate candidates in sufficient number. It would be good to understand why LSA, by far the largest unit within our University, seems to dismiss what is intended to be a major channel of the faculty's influence on the administration.

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.