University of Michigan
News for Faculty and Staff

May 27, 2018


July 5, 2017


Topic: Campus News

Kim Eagle

Kim A. Eagle, Albion Walter Hewlett Professor of Internal Medicine, professor of health management and policy at the School of Public Health, and director of the Frankel Cardiovascular Center, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Rotary Club of Ann Arbor. The Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor accorded by the Rotary Club. Eagle was recognized as a world-renowned cardiologist whose research has improved the quality and cost-effectiveness of treatment for aortic diseases and acute coronary syndromes, and whose vision led to the founding of two innovative programs: Project Healthy Schools, a middle-school-based program to fight childhood obesity and its long-term health risks; and My Heart, Your Heart, which recycles pacemakers for use in low-income countries around the world. He was also recognized as an excellent professor who teaches the next generation of physicians about compassion and humility, not just clinical techniques.

Mathieu Despard

Mathieu Despard, assistant professor of social work, School of Social Work, was honored with the 2017 Slavin-Patti Award for Outstanding Article of the Year from the Human Services Organizations: Management, Leadership, and Governance journal published by Taylor and Francis Group. His article, "Strengthening evaluation in nonprofit human service organizations: Results of a capacity-building experiment," was recognized June 15 at the Network for Social Work Management's 28th annual management conference in New York City.

Charles P. Friedman, Josiah Macy, Jr. Professor of Medical Education; chair, Department of Learning Health Sciences; and professor of learning health sciences, Medical School, recently was elected by the International Medical Informatics Association to become part of the inaugural class of the International Academy of Health Sciences Informatics. Formed to recognize expertise in biomedical and health informatics, the academy will foster collaboration and training among internationally distinguished members to be inducted during the 16th World Congress on Medical and Health Informatics in Hangzhou, China. Friedman also is a professor of information, School of Information, and professor of health management and policy, School of Public Health.

Sallie Foley

Sallie Foley, lecturer II in social work, School of Social Work, and director of the Sexual Health Certificate Program, has received the Professional Standard of Excellence Award from the American Association of Sexuality Educators, Counselors and Therapists. She was recognized by her peers as a competent and accomplished colleague, an expert in her field and an exemplary bearer of the standards of professional and personal ethics.

Heather Kendrick, M-Prize program director and chamber music coordinator, recently was crowned Miss Michigan 2017. She graduated in 2016 from the School of Music, Theatre & Dance with a bachelor's degree in violin performance.

Melanie Sanford

Melanie Sanford, Moses Gomberg Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and professor of chemistry, LSA, is a 2017 laureate of the Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists. She is one of three laureates awarded the honor. Sanford was honored for her work developing simpler, more environmentally friendly approaches to the creating molecules that can be used to store energy in batteries, serve as new medical imaging agents, convert carbon dioxide into fuels or serve as pharmaceuticals to treat disease. The annual Blavatnik Awards, established in 2007 by the Blavatnik Family Foundation and administered by the New York Academy of Sciences, recognize exceptional young researchers who will drive the next generation of innovation by answering today's most complex and intriguing scientific questions.

Tags: Accolades