The campus community is being asked to nominate individuals who have contributed to their field or society to be considered for honorary degrees.

“Honorary degrees give us the opportunity to celebrate with pride the accomplishments of those whose contributions have changed the world,” President Mark Schlissel said.

Nominees may be individuals who have advanced their field of endeavor in significant ways, or who have made compelling contributions to society.  

Although nominations can be submitted at any time, the committee typically meets once in the fall and once in the spring to consider nominations. The deadline to nominate individuals to be considered to receive an honorary degree as early as 2021 Spring Commencement is 5 p.m. Oct. 14.

The committee, chaired by Rackham Graduate School Dean Michael J. Solomon, includes faculty members from the Ann Arbor, Flint and Dearborn campuses, students and alumni — all of whom are appointed by the Board of Regents on the recommendation of the president.

“With their deep connections to our university and its highest ideals, our faculty, students, staff and alumni are ideally suited to bring forward honorary degree nominations,” Solomon said. “I invite all members of our community to consider this important process.”

Past U-M honorary degree recipients include President Barack Obama, Gov. Rick Snyder, U.S. Justice Sonia Sotomayor, journalist Christiane Amanpour, artist Michele Oka Doner, poet Rita Dove, neurosurgeon Sanjay Gupta and economist Robert J. Shiller.

U-M commencement speakers are typically drawn from the pool of those approved for honorary degrees.